Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
convert .max to .3ds help
Old
taboo games
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default convert .max to .3ds help - 06-22-2009, 04:39 PM

does anyone know how to convert .max to .3ds without 3d studio max? i have it at school, but school closed a month ago
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DrJim
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-22-2009, 06:09 PM

Probably that's not going to be easy. Somehow you have to strip just the mesh out of the .max file.

First, take a look at http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=2356

Two other options might be Milkshape (not free, but cheap) and Blender (free but complicated).

Also do a search of the web, if you haven't already.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
taboo games
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-23-2009, 01:33 PM

my problem isn't getting a 3d modeler, its changeing the models i've already made..... though a modeler beter than anim8or would really be apreciated(though i do like the similarities to 3ds max)

if someone has 3ds max, and was willing to just convert my models to 3ds for me, i'd be greatfull (though i'd want them to promise not to keep the models in any way.....i spent alot of work doing these, even if they don't look great)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DrJim
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 06-23-2009, 06:33 PM

The ones I've listed will input a variety of formats and then export in another - though I'm not sure about .max. Just that might do what you need without worrying about learning a new modeler.

About the only thing I use Blender for, for example, is format conversion.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
taboo games
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 07-06-2009, 12:02 PM

thank you for the suggestion....umm could i possibly bother you to check if blender can convert .max for me? i don't personally own a computer(parents.....), so all my programs are on flash drives, and i'm running out of room. an easy way to check would be to see if the .max format shows up in the pull down list for the importer.....

you'd really be helping me out here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DrJim
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 07-07-2009, 04:04 AM

Blender will handle some max files, but I don't know if the way it does it will help. There are so many options, I'm afraid the only way to find out is to try.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.