Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
how do I convert....
Old
shaydon
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 445
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Caspian Border
Default how do I convert.... - 12-16-2009, 01:11 AM

how do i convert objects into alice format
i have tried to do it with blender but my computer crashes when i run it
plz help me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-16-2009, 01:17 AM

Did you follow Blender's installation instructions? One of the things you need to run Blender is a program called Python. You may not have Python, which would mean Blender wouldn't run properly. Install Python 2.6 and try again.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
shaydon
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 445
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Caspian Border
Unhappy 12-16-2009, 01:33 AM

i downloaded the one which had python included
how do you install i thought you could just run it it works for about 1 minute and then my computer crashes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-16-2009, 01:38 AM

No sure why. If Blender's working properly and your computer's fast enough to handle it, there should be no problem.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
shaydon
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 445
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Caspian Border
Unhappy 12-16-2009, 01:46 PM

just found out its not blenders fault because i tried running google skechup
and that doesnt work either i think i need new graphics card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
lanel27
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 12-16-2009, 03:36 PM

If you just need to convert a 3d object a program I use is Biturn. You may not get the textures, and if your not the one that made the object it may be a little buggy movement-wise, but almost any object works and you could probably fix the glitches on your own and just recolour it. I know one big 'ol run-on sentence but...


Edit: I forgot but you need to turn them into .ASE format, Alice reads those too.

Last edited by lanel27; 12-16-2009 at 03:40 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-16-2009, 04:34 PM

Biturn is best for .3ds and .obj format models, but Blender is there to transfer the models in other formats to those 2 formats.

However, Biturn can handle some other obscure formats, one of which just happens to be the .mdl format (the format shaydon's models are in).


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
try my games and comment

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.