Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Suggestion Box

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
All Objects in List?
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default All Objects in List? - 12-19-2009, 09:44 AM

I have another suggestion. I know that there are lists and arrays for objects, but when I want to form a list of objects that I can use in a method, it will only let me choose a random object from that list. Wouldn't it be more useful to have an option to use all objects from that list? When I want to say set opacity 0% for all of the objects in a certain list, it is impossible. I would have to either choose a random item from the list, or I would have to set the opacity to 0% for every single item separately. It would be a great improvement to have this option, and it would expand our possibilities while using Alice, without using ridiculous amounts of code.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-19-2009, 10:44 AM

Actually, that's what the For All Together tile at the bottom of the scripting area is for.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-19-2009, 01:31 PM

Where is that x2495iiii?

EDIT: Nevermind I see it, I will try to use it now.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by Dameria; 12-19-2009 at 01:39 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-19-2009, 01:33 PM

Oh! Ok I get it now. I just didn't know thats how you could do it, thanks! But I would still like to see it as a new feature in a later version of Alice, where you could say all objects in list without using that "all together" code. Because with this the only way I got it to work is by using a separate method just to do an action.

Here is the example I did to teach myself in case you want to learn from it:
Attached Files
File Type: a2w ObjectListTest.a2w (1.17 MB, 46 views)


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by Dameria; 12-19-2009 at 01:39 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
array, code, file size, list, object

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.