Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
I have had enough, I quit.
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Angry I have had enough, I quit. - 12-28-2009, 12:54 PM

Alice has done this to me on several of my big projects.

IT IS UNABLE TO LOAD WORLD.

This was my biggest project yet, which I had imported custom models, textures that had took me some time to make and sound files which I spent a while hunting down to get the perfect one, or created myself.

I put a lot of time into it and had worked my way around some bugs and errors, untill it happened, the worst thing that could happen,
UNABLE TO LOAD WORLD

Because it crashed in the middle of saving

And just to ruin it even more, the last backup it had recorded was from several weeks ago

I quit for now, I'm going to just go out in the snow. I could PS3, Modern Warfare 2 would be fine, at least Little Big Planet would be safer for saving; but oh no, now my TV is broken too.

And all at christmas
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Alice error.jpg (73.0 KB, 150 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 12-28-2009, 05:54 PM

Sorry about that, but yah, that happens, To avoid that big problem, i just copy the game of of Alice liek Copy and paste then save then load teh other version, and im going good so far.


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames

Last edited by jediaction; 05-02-2011 at 08:54 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
I am back, I fixed the corrupt a2w world
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Talking I am back, I fixed the corrupt a2w world - 12-29-2009, 07:46 AM

HA, I fixed the corrupt file.

Quite complicated, but I

-found out it a2w is actually a zip file
-opened the corrupt a2w file in winRAR
-extracted the contents to a folder
-found the folder with the file that was missing (as shown on the bug report when it couldn't load)
-took out all the unamed folders from in it.
-edited the element data xml in that folder so it did not point to any of those unamed folders.
-took out another missing thing from the main element data xml
-packed it all into a zip file
-renamed it .a2w
-opened it in Alice
-unable to resolve a reference and unknown error, but
-IT LOADED
-removed the broken methods.
-saved it

-SUCCESS!!


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
i need help
Old
aarroonn789
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Question i need help - 12-29-2009, 01:19 PM

hay i am new to alice and i cant get alice to create a object when i press the spacebar it is realy bugging me can anayone help?
aarroonn
   
Reply With Quote
Hope this helps
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Lightbulb Hope this helps - 12-29-2009, 01:53 PM

It can't create an object while the the world is running,
you must put all the objects you want in from the object library before you play it, then you can change the object to not showing or put it off screen. Then add a button listener event for the space bar to make make the object come onto the screen.
Attached Files
File Type: a2c SigSauer.a2c (1.27 MB, 12 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]

Last edited by x2495iiii; 02-13-2012 at 07:54 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
following up on arty-FishL's solution
Old
hlrich
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default following up on arty-FishL's solution - 04-30-2011, 12:10 AM

Hi,

I am trying to recover a file that will not open, just like you have done.

Can you please elaborate on this step: "took out another missing thing from the main element data xml"?

I've followed all of the other steps up to that point, and I still can't get a file t open. What exactly did you remove in that step?

Thanks very much
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow 04-30-2011, 07:09 AM

I honestly can't remember any more, I done this ages ago.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
reuben2011
Senior Member
 
reuben2011's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 489
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hawaii
Default 05-02-2011, 06:45 PM

Nice to see some of Arty's old experiences with Alice.


Projects
-Escape the Kitchen
-That ninja animation
-Hill Collision

Upcoming Projects
-Some penguin adventure game?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,143
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Twilight Zone!
Default 05-02-2011, 08:53 PM

Oh yeah! I just noticed that this thread was old. (I didn't check the date, as usual.)


██████████████████████
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓▓░█
█░▓░░░▓░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓░░█
█░▓░░░░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░░░░░░░▓░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
██████████████████████

________________

Alice Hater? Rant Here!: http://tinyurl.com/HateAlice
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow 05-03-2011, 03:34 AM

I think this was actually an issue with memory in my computer at the time anyway, Alice really ate it up, but i've tuned up my computer now.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
load, mad, unable, unable to load world, world

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.