Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
A Terrain Generator With Userfriendly Interface!!
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Arrow A Terrain Generator With Userfriendly Interface!! - 03-28-2010, 03:22 PM

Here it is, followed by some examples and some example-worlds.
They're all in the zip-file which you'll have to extrude.

Update: I've just created an interface for you guys Now, it'll be easypeacy to build your own terrain.
I just uploaded a version which generate smoother textures, still if you want it to be perfect, you should use a program designed for generating heightmaps and textures.

Features:
Create terrains with collision detection.
Create random terrains(I'm using the diamond-square algorithm).
Automaticy generate a suitable texture for the terrain.
Use heightmaps(grayscale) to generate a terrain.
Use your own textures.
The functions and the variables are automaticly added to the a2c.

This is the same program i used to create the terrains in this thread:
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4102

You'll have to have framework.net installed in order for this to work. In some PCs, it's installed and in some it isn't, so please try it before download. Im pretty sure that if you get an error, it's because you haven't framework.net, or else you could try to run it as administrator.
Link: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

If you want the sourcecode, just ask.

Tell me what you think and remember to report bugs.

By the way, you should not use a heightmap with a size larger than 150x150. Alice doesn't like too much geometry

Since the complete terrain generator pack is some random palce in this soup of posts,
I've placed a link to it here The pack contains the terrain buider, the random heightmap generator and the heightmap texturer.
http://www.alice.org/community/showp...0&postcount=18


Here's the newest version, The Terrain Builder v2.1.1
http://www.alice.org/community/showp...4&postcount=52

I removed the Advanced version since it's messed up...

Have fun :]

~Zenteo Xero
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Terrain Builder.jpg (31.4 KB, 296 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Terrain Builder.zip (755.4 KB, 60 views)
File Type: zip TerrainBuilder Smooth Texture.zip (755.4 KB, 49 views)

Last edited by x2495iiii; 04-13-2011 at 01:19 AM.
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Default 03-29-2010, 03:42 PM

Srsly, no comments? :O
This is some great stuff you know!
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Old
zonedabone
Senior Member
 
zonedabone's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 578
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the interwebs
Default 03-29-2010, 04:29 PM

Don't have net framework. Can't do it.


'Apple Macintosh' - An anagram of 'Complaints Heap'

M.A.C.I.N.T.O.S.H. - Machine Always Crashes, If Not, The Operating System Hangs.

You're *such* a mac person.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Default 03-29-2010, 06:51 PM

Ahh, sorry : )
Forgot to link it ^^

It's not for sure that you don't have framework.net, you should try it in order to comfirm it. Run it as administrator could work aswell. If it still doesn't work, you could download the framework.

Framework.net is something Microsoft forgot to make standard in their OS, still some computers has it.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

Last edited by zenteo; 03-29-2010 at 06:59 PM.
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Old
Niteshifter
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 03-29-2010, 08:05 PM

Diamond-square is a fun one to play around with, especially since you can change up the main parameter to make it "smooth" like plains or bumpy like cliffs (or anything in between).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Default 03-30-2010, 07:19 AM

Yes it's kinda fun xD

How's it going folk?
Does it work?
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 03-30-2010, 11:06 AM

It worked for me. But it looks kinda of tall grass, you will see the terrains in our A-TOM game studios project. it looks so cool right now


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
shaydon
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 445
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Caspian Border
Default 03-30-2010, 03:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by autoteck View Post
I agree...this is the most important contribution ever for the community...Can you tell us where the web site is? ..Did you make this all by yourself?..We need to know where this file came from to check its integrity.. no offense please...its sound insight that we users need to know..

Very well done!
this is awesome!!!!!!
but! it generated a random terain that didnt look so good
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Default 03-30-2010, 03:38 PM

The program is entirely made by me ^^
There's no website, I just a little project of mine which wanted to share with you guys : )

Here's the source code for those who's intrested...
It's a bit of a mess, but the important thing is that it works ;D
Attached Files
File Type: zip TerrainBuilder Source.zip (2.14 MB, 14 views)
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Old
zenteo
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Earth
Default 03-30-2010, 03:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaydon View Post
this is awesome!!!!!!
but! it generated a random terain that didnt look so good
Thanks : D

If the result was bad, then try to generate a new one

If you didn't like the texture, then you could customise the width and the height of the texture. This will make the generated texture larger and it will be more space for details(not streached, more details!!!).

Then again, if it's the look of the texture you didn't like, it's not very much that can be done. Maybe you could try to change the code or something. I would advice you to rather use a program designed for generating heightmaps and put it's result into the terrainbuilder.
  Send a message via MSN to zenteo  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.