Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Sound Help
Old
ljb716
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Sound Help - 04-23-2010, 08:39 PM

I have tried importing a sound in, and I have also tried to use the sounds that come with Alice and in both scenarios I get the same error.

I try to make a sound play when the movie starts, and it says "An unknown error has occured"

This is also the detailed error:

Alice version: 2.2 8/1/2009

*****Running World*****
Exception in thread "JMF thread: com.sun.media.PlaybackEngine@13ee167 ( prefetchThread)" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Requested value 7.9588003 exceeds allowable maximum value 6.0206.
at javax.sound.sampled.FloatControl.setValue(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.media.sound.DirectAudioDevice$DirectDL$Gai n.setValue(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.media.renderer.audio.device.JavaSoundOutpu t.setGain(JavaSoundOutput.java:157)
at com.sun.media.renderer.audio.AudioRenderer.initDev ice(AudioRenderer.java:294)
at com.sun.media.renderer.audio.JavaSoundRenderer.ini tDevice(JavaSoundRenderer.java:125)
at com.sun.media.renderer.audio.JavaSoundRenderer.ope n(JavaSoundRenderer.java:91)
at com.sun.media.BasicRendererModule.doPrefetch(Basic RendererModule.java:157)
at com.sun.media.BasicTrackControl.prefetchTrack(Basi cTrackControl.java:98)
at com.sun.media.PlaybackEngine.doPrefetch1(PlaybackE ngine.java:592)
at com.sun.media.PlaybackEngine.doPrefetch(PlaybackEn gine.java:547)
at com.sun.media.PrefetchWorkThread.process(BasicCont roller.java:1430)
at com.sun.media.StateTransitionWorkThread.run(BasicC ontroller.java:1339)


Does anyone know of any solution to this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 04-23-2010, 09:14 PM

Not all sound types are accepted on Alice, even if they are imported with no problem. I haven't used sounds in while, but I know that they can cause the game to crash and problems to occur. Try to convert the sound to a lower quality, and if you find a sound file that works in Alice, only use sounds that are of that sound type.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
ljb716
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 04-24-2010, 11:41 AM

Do you know why I keep getting the error even when I use the sounds that come with Alice?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 04-24-2010, 11:49 AM

Its probably because you have already imported the bad sound file. Try deleting the sound file or starting a new world and then use the sounds that come with Alice.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.