Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Thread Tools Display Modes
Why can't i use "Character Say" in a function?
Posts: n/a
Default Why can't i use "Character Say" in a function? - 04-09-2010, 11:14 AM

I have a function to generate a card out of a deck and i use it to return the value of the card. I also want to have the character say "You got a Queen" or whatever but can't use that feature in a function. Any workaround that?

Thanks much,
Reply With Quote
Senior Member
jediaction's Avatar
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 04-09-2010, 02:24 PM

Well, just say, if this = this, than say "You got a "whatever"" IT should be that easy with the random thing. Hmm, im thinkign it out now. Try putting the texts in every random function.

This is my 1,300th post. YEAH!

Reply With Quote
Functions are not Methods
Senior Member
MrMoke's Avatar
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Functions are not Methods - 05-05-2010, 11:42 PM

You will have to use the information passed back from the function, and do the say in the calling method.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright ©2018, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.