Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do i Make a replay or start option for game??
Old
fatmansam
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default How do i Make a replay or start option for game?? - 06-13-2011, 01:53 AM

How do i Make a replay option for game??

I already have a thing to click, but how do i get the world to stop all to gether???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 06-13-2011, 03:05 PM

well you will have to just make everything reset in your restart method,I use to use dummy objects on every thing could move in my games, and when I had it restart it would reset back to those objects


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
legolizard
Senior Member
 
legolizard's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 242
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aboard the Hyperion escaping the zerg.
Default 06-13-2011, 03:57 PM

To start your game, I would suppose you mean by clicking the button. If so then you would create the event "when the mouse is clicked on "said object" do and then call the required game method or methods. Otherwise could you elaborate a little bit more.


"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."-Albert Einstein
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 06-13-2011, 04:03 PM

If you mean restart by "restart the application" then that is not possible with normal Alice. It might be possible with Jython scripting though(I don't know much about Jython so to find that out, talk to Arty-fishL). You can make positions reset with button clicks and when the button is clicked, all the object move to there origional positions and then the method restart. But, it all matters on how you make your game and what kind of game it is. Hope this helps


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,143
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Twilight Zone!
Default 06-13-2011, 04:48 PM

My suggestion to you would be to just use the if/else method and ask the user if they want to play again. If they do, just start the code for the game back up again. (If you don't know what I am talking about, just say so, and I will make an example program.)


██████████████████████
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓▓░█
█░▓░░░▓░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓░░█
█░▓░░░░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░░░░░░░▓░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
██████████████████████

________________

Alice Hater? Rant Here!: http://tinyurl.com/HateAlice
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 06-13-2011, 05:27 PM

Thats why I said, it depends on how you made your game and what kind of game it is...


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,143
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Twilight Zone!
Default 06-13-2011, 05:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
Thats why I said, it depends on how you made your game and what kind of game it is...
I think I found the way you said it too confusing, which is why I said it again.


██████████████████████
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓▓░█
█░▓░░░▓░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓░░█
█░▓░░░░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░░░░░░░▓░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
██████████████████████

________________

Alice Hater? Rant Here!: http://tinyurl.com/HateAlice
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 06-13-2011, 06:28 PM

OK, but I said it now...haha


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.