Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
World Loader - Link your worlds up!!!
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Lightbulb World Loader - Link your worlds up!!! - 05-17-2011, 05:34 AM

beachbum111111 gave me a really good idea.

Wouldn't it be great if you could link worlds together?!

So I created a small, but powerful tool to do just that.
It allows another world to be loaded at runtime.

WATCH THE NEW VIDEO TUTORIAL!!!

I forgot to mention in the video tutorial:
The worlds must be in the same folder/directory.

__________________________________________________ _______

This is useful for linking different levels or parts of a game together, without bloating up the size of each world. This can aid in greatly decreasing lag and it allows for infinitely long worlds. An example of where this would help could be in jediaction's
Halo - the generator (or Halo 2).

When you run the world the next world should load whenever this method gets activated, providing the next world actually exists.

When posting linked world on the Alice Community, post them all together and instruct users to download them all into the same folder as each other.


WARNING - if you are developing the world, make sure you save before playing, because this automatically bypasses the ask to save dialog before loading the next world. Also, do not rename the tool object in the world or it wont work.

I hope this helps you.

__________________________________________________ _______

UPDATE 2 - v2 : fixed a script bug
UPDATE 3 - actually v2 this time
UPDATE 4 - (OLD) VIDEO TUTORIAL HERE
UPDATE 5 - v3 : fixed another script bug

UPDATE 6
- v4 : new and revised features added. It can now:
- Detect non-existing worlds and gives the user the choice of locating the world.
- Detect loading failures and displays an error message.
- Carrying over variables is possible (see video tutorial), so your score etc doesn't get lost.
- Going back to a pre-defined world in the sequence of links when any loaded world is stopped is possible (see video tutorial).

The
loadWorld method has been renamed to load_world .

UPDATE 7 - NEW VIDEO TUTORIAL HERE
UPDATE 8 - v5 : Variables other than strings should carry now
Attached Files
File Type: a2c WorldLoaderTool.a2c (23.1 KB, 76 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]

Last edited by arty-fishL; 05-19-2011 at 02:17 PM. Reason: update v5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
room14
Senior Member
 
room14's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Default 05-17-2011, 05:40 AM

I haven't seen it yet but HOLY F**K!

EDIT: agh. it gave me an error...


:D

Last edited by room14; 05-17-2011 at 05:52 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-17-2011, 06:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by room14 View Post
agh. it gave me an error...
Please post the error in full (pastebin it or something to make it smaller). I want to squish all bugs, and I cant find them all when I'm running Alice under different configurations to everybody else.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
nickster654
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 180
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: nickster12345678@gmail.com
Default 05-17-2011, 07:47 AM

yea it gave me an error too


Error during simulation.




Alice version: 2.2 5/26/2009



Throwable that caused the error:

Traceback (innermost last):

File "edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.property.ScriptPrope rty[name=script,owner=edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.res ponse.ScriptResponse[world.worldLoaderTool.event.__Unnamed0__]]", line 1, in ?

File "<string>", line 8, in ?

NameError: Thread
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Lightbulb 05-17-2011, 07:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickster654 View Post
yea it gave me an error too
Ah, sorry about that, that's a one line simple fix. Hopefully no more bugs will pop up after this. Updating in a minute.

EDIT - there I've updated it, try it again please.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]

Last edited by arty-fishL; 05-17-2011 at 07:55 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 05-17-2011, 10:24 AM

Well, I hope you can fix it. I am excited for this!


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
beachbum111111
Senior Member
 
beachbum111111's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: under your bed
Default 05-17-2011, 11:59 AM

Will it work with MAMA?


"Don't lead me into temptation I can find it myself"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
TauTrumpsPi
Senior Member
 
TauTrumpsPi's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 399
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The diamond layer
Default 05-17-2011, 12:16 PM

I got an error too, with the most recent version.

Error during simulation.




Alice version: 2.2 02/10/2011



Throwable that caused the error:

Traceback (innermost last):

File "edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.property.ScriptPrope rty[name=script,owner=edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.res ponse.ScriptResponse[world.worldLoaderTool.loadWorld.__Unnamed1__]]", line 1, in ?

NameError: loadWorld


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have plenty of common sense. I just choose to ignore it.
-Calvin and Hobbes

Wondering about my Avatar?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tardigrade

Wondering about my username?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jG7vhMMXagQ
   
Reply With Quote
ppfffffffffffffffffffffffff
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow ppfffffffffffffffffffffffff - 05-17-2011, 01:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
Well, I hope you can fix it. I am excited for this!
I hope I can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beachbum111111 View Post
Will it work with MAMA?
I will test it soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TauTrumpsPi View Post
I got an error too, with the most recent version.
Don't make it run the second the world starts, make it pause for a second before it loads the next world, making it run the second the world starts isn't practical anyway.
If that isn't the issue, then have you got the event in the picture below?
Attached Images
File Type: png event.png (3.2 KB, 171 views)


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]

Last edited by arty-fishL; 05-17-2011 at 02:01 PM. Reason: oops, wrong image
   
Reply With Quote
Old
madden
Senior Member
 
madden's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 322
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: My own little world 0.0
Default 05-17-2011, 02:00 PM

Hmmm. I am also getting a error. Perhaps make a video tutorial? Sounds very awesome though. I have been waiting a long time for this exact thing.


Check out my new website - http://www.freewebs.com/maddenuser/

Special thanks to the people who are supporting me...
Drjim, rich0e0rick, Chris101b, ZED, jediaction, x2495iiii, ("Robby"), gabe, JustasM, and Shadow Sovereign.


Games...

CSS - a sidescroler/adventure game.
CASE 1.01 - a escape the room/adventure game.
In the Black and White - a shooter/adventure game.
Field Of Wonder - a adventure game
C.R.E.S - a action/adventure game.

Can you eat 10 cookies in 5 seconds?
I did.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
join, level, link, load, loader, world

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.