Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can't Open Alice World - "IllegalNameValueException"
Old
Habstinat
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default Can't Open Alice World - "IllegalNameValueException" - 11-29-2011, 08:31 AM

Here is the error in question, which I recieve after attempting to open the world:
Code:
Unable to load world




Alice version: 2.2  09/10/2010



Throwable that caused the error:

edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.IllegalNameValueException: Unfortunately, something else in this world is already named "index," so you can't use that name here.

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.checkForNameCollision(Element.java:218)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.internalSetParent(Element.java:677)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.insertChildAt(Element.java:1047)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.addChild(Element.java:1055)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.setParent(Element.java:638)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.response.LoopNInOrder.loadCompleted(LoopNInOrder.java:59)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.loadCompleted(Element.java:1426)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.core.Element.load(Element.java:1551)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.authoringtool.dialog.LoadElementProgressPane.construct(LoadElementProgressPane.java:37)

	at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.progress.ProgressPane$2.run(ProgressPane.java:84)

	at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
The world is fairly simple and seemed to have saved without error the last time I opened it. The world file is attatched to this post. Any ideas as to why this is happening or what I could do to fix this? Thanks in advance for any help.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w BlimpAndDragon.a2w (3.12 MB, 2 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-29-2011, 09:56 AM

The file has likely been corrupted. I can't fix it, Dennis might be able to, though.

If possible, I recommend you restart from a backup.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 12-01-2011, 02:13 AM

The error is caused by a faulty method. We need to remove it and edit the elementData.xmls to appropriate that removal.
It's usually the last method you worked with.
Done. An error will pop up when you first load it. When it says to "Set all values to none," just press Yes to proceed. It doesn't matter.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w BlimpAndDragon.a2w (3.06 MB, 2 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Thumbs up 12-01-2011, 03:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
The error is caused by a faulty method. We need to remove it and edit the elementData.xmls to appropriate that removal.
It's usually the last method you worked with.
Done. An error will pop up when you first load it. When it says to "Set all values to none," just press Yes to proceed. It doesn't matter.
Cool, so you know how to fix things like this? Well done .


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 12-01-2011, 11:10 AM

I learned how when I had to use hax to add spotlights to my VTOL. I'm probably going to add them to the B17 as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, illegalnamevalueexception, open

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.