Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
opening a2w
Old
johnwaq
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2012
Default opening a2w - 05-25-2012, 05:44 PM

I installed alice using new cd that I bought to learn java programming. The problem is everytime I try opening my saved files I get a message saying, the window needs look for a program to open this file. The other day I clicked ok on the message and the window open internet page which recommended some programs but they all turned out to be pc cleaning programs. This did help at all. So tried opening alice file using other programs like adobe but this ended up creating another mess. Adope can not open alice files, now alice is saving all files as adobe files and they are unreadable. I need help in correcting this mess. What program opens alice file? Where can I go to download it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,143
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Twilight Zone!
Default 05-25-2012, 05:57 PM



██████████████████████
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓▓░█
█░▓░░░▓░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓▓▓▓░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓▓▓░░█
█░▓░░░░░░▓░▓░▓░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░░░░░░░▓░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
██████████████████████

________________

Alice Hater? Rant Here!: http://tinyurl.com/HateAlice
   
Reply With Quote
Old
CaffeineQueen
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Earth
Default 06-09-2012, 04:49 PM

I'm learning all this stuff myself. So far it looks like the only thing that can open anything done in Alice is to open the Alice application itself. I've tried everything else I have as well. Looks like the FAQ had some things about this issue also, and that does appear to be the case. Good luck on your learning tho!
   
Reply With Quote
Hope this helps
Old
casper101usa
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: alabama
Default Hope this helps - 06-18-2012, 09:15 PM

ok here is what you do first. put the file that you have alice in and the saved world in the same file on the desktop (so it is easy to find).

when you open the alice program follow these steps:

1. Click file
2. click open world
3. when you see the choices come up to open file
4. click on desktop
5. click on your file that contains alice and your saved world
6. click on your saved world.
7. click open file.

hopefully this helps if not I will check back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 500
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 06-19-2012, 07:58 AM

What he said is the best way. You might want to keep all of your worlds in a unique folder if you can. You will also note additional backup folders being AUTOMATICALLY created, in case you make mistakes.

Last edited by MrMoke; 06-19-2012 at 08:03 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2017, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.