Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Questions and Comments (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Can a program close the Alice window? (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=10288)

robit 09-22-2013 01:44 PM

Can a program close the Alice window?
 
Hi,

We are new to Alice and just love it. We have written our first little game and were wondering if we can put some code into our game that automatically closes the Alice window after the hero succeeded in her quest?

Thx alot

drellem 09-22-2013 05:45 PM

If you have scripting enabled, you can do it with Jython. For more information on Jython scripting, you can go to [URL="http://www.westga.edu/~drocco/alice/scripting_basics.html"]http://www.westga.edu/~drocco/alice/scripting_basics.html[/URL]. If you need, I can show you how to close the window once you've enabled scripting.

robit 09-23-2013 01:30 PM

Thanks, that looks fantastic. However, we are using Alice3 and can't find were to enable scripting... Is scripting supported in Alice3? Also, what method do we need to call or how do we access 'this' from the scrip? Any documentation?

Thanks!!

PS: As lovely Alice is, it's practically impossible to google for anything ...

drellem 09-23-2013 05:31 PM

I'm not sure if you can enable scripting on Alice 3. Sorry, but I don't know that much about what you can do with Alice 3.

ADITYA1243 05-27-2014 01:30 AM

If you can put any code or password then your program will be automatically close. I like alice and I often using .

macofi 07-08-2014 09:52 AM

hi all, I'm a new user.
Unfortunately I have the same sort of problem as robit.
and still not able to solve ...

news about it?

RavenOfCode 08-12-2014 05:17 PM

Solution
 
An alternate solution is to have it go into an game over screen,
I normally do this by making a square, pointing it at the camera, making it cover the screen (add a texture, normal pics work fine) then putting some text in front of the camera, after that just place a dummy object at the camera.

Then just move the camera to the dummy, set the text/squares vehicle to camera and your good.

RavenOfCode 09-17-2014 06:19 PM

Lython?
 
You mean jython? Thats what you get when u enable scripting.

MrMoke 09-18-2014 09:47 AM

Also
 
[QUOTE=RavenOfCode;54881]You mean jython? Thats what you get when u enable scripting.[/QUOTE]

If computer is properly set up with a JDK, it also allows the use of Java scripts due to recent bug fixes in Alice 2.4.2.:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.

Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.