Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Bugs and Troubleshooting (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   I have had enough, I quit. (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3715)

arty-fishL 12-28-2009 12:54 PM

I have had enough, I quit.
 
1 Attachment(s)
Alice has done this to me on several of my big projects.

IT IS UNABLE TO LOAD WORLD.

This was my biggest project yet, which I had imported custom models, textures that had took me some time to make and sound files which I spent a while hunting down to get the perfect one, or created myself.

I put a lot of time into it and had worked my way around some bugs and errors, untill it happened, the worst thing that could happen,
UNABLE TO LOAD WORLD:confused::eek::(:mad::mad::mad:

Because it crashed in the middle of saving:(

And just to ruin it even more, the last backup it had recorded was from several weeks ago:mad::mad::mad:

I quit for now, I'm going to just go out in the snow. I could PS3, Modern Warfare 2 would be fine, at least Little Big Planet would be safer for saving; but oh no, now my TV is broken too.

And all at christmas

jediaction 12-28-2009 05:54 PM

Sorry about that, but yah, that happens, To avoid that big problem, i just copy the game of of Alice liek Copy and paste then save then load teh other version, and im going good so far.

arty-fishL 12-29-2009 07:46 AM

I am back, I fixed the corrupt a2w world
 
HA, I fixed the corrupt file.

Quite complicated, but I

-found out it a2w is actually a zip file
-opened the corrupt a2w file in winRAR
-extracted the contents to a folder
-found the folder with the file that was missing (as shown on the bug report when it couldn't load)
-took out all the unamed folders from in it.
-edited the element data xml in that folder so it did not point to any of those unamed folders.
-took out another missing thing from the main element data xml
-packed it all into a zip file
-renamed it .a2w
-opened it in Alice
-unable to resolve a reference and unknown error, but
-IT LOADED
-removed the broken methods.
-saved it

-SUCCESS!!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

aarroonn789 12-29-2009 01:19 PM

i need help
 
hay i am new to alice and i cant get alice to create a object when i press the spacebar :confused: it is realy bugging me can anayone help?
aarroonn

arty-fishL 12-29-2009 01:53 PM

Hope this helps
 
1 Attachment(s)
It can't create an object while the the world is running,
you must put all the objects you want in from the object library before you play it, then you can change the object to not showing or put it off screen. Then add a button listener event for the space bar to make make the object come onto the screen.

hlrich 04-30-2011 12:10 AM

following up on arty-FishL's solution
 
Hi,

I am trying to recover a file that will not open, just like you have done.

Can you please elaborate on this step: "took out another missing thing from the main element data xml"?

I've followed all of the other steps up to that point, and I still can't get a file t open. What exactly did you remove in that step?

Thanks very much

arty-fishL 04-30-2011 07:09 AM

I honestly can't remember any more, I done this ages ago.

reuben2011 05-02-2011 06:45 PM

Nice to see some of Arty's old experiences with Alice. :D

David B 05-02-2011 08:53 PM

Oh yeah! I just noticed that this thread was old. (I didn't check the date, as usual.)

arty-fishL 05-03-2011 03:34 AM

I think this was actually an issue with memory in my computer at the time anyway, Alice really ate it up, but i've tuned up my computer now.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.

Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.