Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Health Bar for my Game :D (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6848)

Jones989 06-29-2011 12:29 AM

Health Bar for my Game :D
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hey Everyone

I got two "needs alloooooottttt of improvements" on my "The Chase" game as you all mite know, So I want to, as my one of my improvements, change the health system. Instead of numbers telling the player the health of the enemy, I want a health bar above the enemy's head telling its health.

ANY HELP WILL BE APPRECIATED!!!!!! :D

PS: I will attach the game for those who need to look at the game more closely.

Thank You

Jones989

sfunk 06-29-2011 12:32 AM

just search for health bars in the search function, there are alot of examples

Jones989 06-29-2011 12:42 AM

Hey Sfunk

That was fast!

I tried that but none appied to the problem I had. If you can find one and post it in here (giving the person who wrote the tut credit) that would be great :D.

Thanks! :)

Jones989

sfunk 06-29-2011 12:50 AM

1 Attachment(s)
what kind of health bar are you looking for?

EDIT: Here is a quick example I just made

Jones989 06-29-2011 01:01 AM

Hey Sfunk

That is actually a almost perfect example of what I need!!! :D

The health is going to be 1000 so how can I do it without making a thousand cubes?

Thanks sooooooo much!!!!!!

Jones989

sfunk 06-29-2011 01:12 AM

all depends, is the health just going to go down by one each time?

Jones989 06-29-2011 01:17 AM

it is going to go down by 100s so that would be 10 cubes actually...

my bad! :D

sfunk 06-29-2011 01:23 AM

I havent played your game, but instead of using a thousand for your number variable, it would probably be better to use health==10 so Alice has troubles at times with variables, and less strain you put on alice, normally the better. but if your showing in the world like the person getting hit being a (100 HP attack) just have that show up in your world but dont make it affect your number variables, unless you want to go through the trouble of doing that

Jones989 06-29-2011 01:34 AM

I need the number to be alot so it takes longer to kill the person. i guess ill change it somehow. Thanks for your help!

Jones989

sfunk 06-29-2011 01:55 AM

well if you wanted the number to be 1000, and only use ten cubes, you could use "if health <=900" then have cube10 opacity to 0

InsertName 07-01-2011 11:28 AM

When I was still experimenting with Alice, a few months ago. I made I fighting game where each person had 200 health and 20 blocks, each one representing 10 health. So when the variable hit 189 the first block would set opacity to zero, a lot like sfunk's suggestion. I tried to set infinities into other infinities. So sometimes the life would go down and the block wouldn't. So it seemed like you had, say , e.g. 130-ish health, and the next thing you know, you're dead.
So in my experience (which is not alot), I never put infinities relying on other infinities again.

zero00 07-01-2011 09:32 PM

I made a health bar once. Maybe you could use this one? :D
[url]http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6711&page=2[/url]

Jones989 07-01-2011 09:51 PM

Thanks InsertName and Zero00, but the problem is already solved. Zero, I will try your health bar in the next shooter game I make if it is good enough. :D

THANK YOU ALL!!! :):):):)

Jones989

x2495iiii 07-02-2011 08:29 PM

Update your signature, jones. You're past 50 posts.

arty-fishL 09-01-2011 02:22 PM

[quote=sdmproject;41186]answers for your health- [url removed] how to relieve sinus pressure[/url][/quote]spammmm

Animat0r 09-01-2011 07:53 PM

i use health =)

Mr Kidnapper 09-09-2011 03:29 AM

Spambots aren't typically employed by companies, since nowadays they're wise enough to not try to annoy their target audience. Instead the owners are primarily people trying to steal information and plant malware to turn your computer into a zombie for whatever purpose they need. Not what I would call a hacker, but similar.

David B 09-09-2011 04:34 PM

[QUOTE=Mr Kidnapper;41465]Spambots aren't typically employed by companies, since nowadays they're wise enough to not try to annoy their target audience. Instead the owners are primarily people trying to steal information and plant malware to turn your computer into a zombie for whatever purpose they need. Not what I would call a hacker, but similar.[/QUOTE]

I would call it hacking! There is a girl in my school that calls me "hacker" because I read C++ For Dummies during my tutorial in school. I laugh at it because she doesn't even know what programming is.

I prefer social engineering over hacking. In fact, I think it is cooler than hacking!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.