Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Suggestion Box (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   importing video into worlds (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4347)

codemaster 05-04-2010 08:23 PM

importing video into worlds
 
Would it be possible to import a video file into an alice world, perhaps to create a TV screen object in a world?

King Gamer(gorit) 05-04-2010 11:08 PM

This is a good idea however implementation of it would be challenging. I already know how to make a video play in alice but it requires saving each frame an importing them as a texture. The problem is that a video file would take up an emense amunt of space.

x2495iiii 05-04-2010 11:47 PM

Unfortunately, this is true. You could potentially save time and effort by lowering the framerate or by making a simple animation of three or four slides that loop over and over, like a crude cartoon running.

jediaction 05-05-2010 08:30 AM

I have made a game with pictures from another movie. Well a omvie i edited by my other brother. It has a lot of pictyures and after 15 pictures, it got really messed up

King Gamer(gorit) 05-05-2010 03:07 PM

[QUOTE=jediaction;20821]I have made a game with pictures from another movie. Well a omvie i edited by my other brother. It has a lot of pictyures and after 15 pictures, it got really messed up[/QUOTE]

Haha no surprise though alice would crash quickly with alot of images.

jediaction 05-05-2010 05:25 PM

yup and it gets really complicated with the showing = false and true!

King Gamer(gorit) 05-05-2010 08:44 PM

Good point. You could however make a world with a list of pictures and a control that adds up 1 each time used. There would be a method with paramaters. I didnt explain this well though.

codemaster 05-11-2010 01:02 PM

Cutscenes?
 
would it be possible to display a video scene in the beginning as an intro video? Not rendering it in 3d, but just displaying the video, then start the 3d rendering.

jediaction 05-11-2010 02:29 PM

No, but i did ask the Alice team to make a seperate Alice program that allows that kind of stuff.

King Gamer(gorit) 05-11-2010 03:23 PM

[QUOTE=jediaction;21158]No, but i did ask the Alice team to make a seperate Alice program that allows that kind of stuff.[/QUOTE]

How did you ask them that.
Secondly you can make fades.

jediaction 05-11-2010 03:57 PM

[QUOTE=King Gamer(gorit);21163]How did you ask them that.
Secondly you can make fades.[/QUOTE]

Email them

King Gamer(gorit) 05-11-2010 04:00 PM

Ah someone uses resources.

jediaction 05-11-2010 04:38 PM

?

King Gamer(gorit) 05-11-2010 04:53 PM

Email is a resouce Dah. LOL

jediaction 05-11-2010 07:19 PM

yah i know, but what about it?

King Gamer(gorit) 05-11-2010 07:32 PM

I never use resources:D

jediaction 05-11-2010 07:51 PM

ok

zonedabone 06-05-2010 11:08 PM

[QUOTE=codemaster;21154]would it be possible to display a video scene in the beginning as an intro video? Not rendering it in 3d, but just displaying the video, then start the 3d rendering.[/QUOTE]

Yes! Make the movie on a billboard. now measure the dimensions, and put it a set distance away from the camera. The camera viewing angles are in radians, so just do the math. I'm not great with trig, so I can't. :D


Also, have we tried using GIf images?

Dameria 06-05-2010 11:52 PM

[QUOTE=zonedabone;22038]Yes! Make the movie on a billboard. now measure the dimensions, and put it a set distance away from the camera. The camera viewing angles are in radians, so just do the math. I'm not great with trig, so I can't. :D


Also, have we tried using GIf images?[/QUOTE]

Haha zonedabone, you are always trying to use advanced math to solve simple problems!!! There is no need for radians if it is a simple billboard with pictures... The problem we have to figure out is how to have low-quality pictures so it does not take up 10 mb of space in the game.

zonedabone 06-06-2010 05:22 PM

[QUOTE=Dameria;22039]Haha zonedabone, you are always trying to use advanced math to solve simple problems!!! There is no need for radians if it is a simple billboard with pictures... The problem we have to figure out is how to have low-quality pictures so it does not take up 10 mb of space in the game.[/QUOTE]

That was for having things look 2d. For videos, simply have a list of textures and use do in order.

jediaction 06-07-2010 09:01 AM

I tried it. Its not as easy as you guys think. Making movies with bill boards is hard. If you can do it, do it and post

codemaster 06-08-2010 10:54 PM

render to texture
 
could you take a picutre of the desired video, and set that as the texture on a billboard in real time

jediaction 06-09-2010 09:57 AM

Uh...taking a picture of a video, Yes, thats a billboard, Saving the Video, No, Thats importing a video

zonedabone 06-09-2010 09:27 PM

Well, jython can do anything. We'll see what happens!:)

King Gamer(gorit) 06-10-2010 07:48 PM

Yeah, btw can it play music not in the world?

jediaction 06-11-2010 09:20 AM

NO, unless there is some Jython script that can do that, but why waste your time. If you uploaded the game, no one else would have the music in the same directory:confused:

King Gamer(gorit) 06-11-2010 09:20 PM

ok, that's a dimwitted post. Remember the discusion we had about A-tom studios using install worlds.

jediaction 06-12-2010 09:08 AM

[QUOTE=King Gamer(gorit);22230]Remember the discusion we had about A-tom studios using install worlds.[/QUOTE]

uh...no?

zonedabone 06-13-2010 12:12 PM

I can have worlds download files to certain directories and then use them. I'm working on a way to set textures from external files!:)

King Gamer(gorit) 06-17-2010 04:24 PM

Um, Just gunna say that, uh, well I forget. But, If we built worlds that installed files we could have them there instead of in the world.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.