Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   How To Import Objects into Alice (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3411)

Dameria 12-20-2009 09:10 PM

No keep using blender, MeshLab is just as confusing when it comes to adding vertexes as far as I can tell (although there is a vertex option in the toolbar that I did not yet explore).

Zack Strife 12-31-2009 12:57 PM

problems with Biturn
 
:confused:I am new (to the forums, not so much Alice), and when i try to run Biturn, it says I need another program. Can you give me an explanation and/ or another free program that can run it.

jediaction 01-11-2010 08:41 AM

You can use winzip7. Its fast easy, you have a like 30 day trial but its useful

x2495iiii 01-11-2010 09:00 AM

[QUOTE=Delpenator;14972]:(:(:(:(:(
Nor do i.

I call upon you super moderator, to enlighten me in the ways of 3D editing. Bestow upon me your powers of superness, and i shall rule my alice world!

And Chris101b thought x2495iiii was wierd.:p[/QUOTE]

Can't believe I never saw this post until now! Big miss on my part.

Unfortunately Dameria's right, I don't know enough about 3d editing (I know some) to change the part structure of the object...yet.

That's next on my list, though, since that'll be another big expansion for the possibilities of Alice.

I'm going to go take a look at some Blender tutorials now.

jediaction 01-11-2010 09:02 AM

haha funny ok, you do that

REDOS 01-12-2010 08:25 PM

Mac user
 
HI , thnx for the information, i tried but i couldnt find biturn for MAC , and by the way, there is no notepad here, i have Textedit, and couldnt see the .ase.blend file, can u tell me one diff option to change that .ase.blend to another extension? thnx

x2495iiii 01-12-2010 09:36 PM

If it's a text-editing file and your model is in .ase formet (not .ase.blend, just .ase), then you can open it up with any text-editing program, as .ase is a text file format.

I don't think there is a version of biturn for the Mac. If I were you, I'd use a virtual machine for windows, or try to use google to find a similar program for Mac.

Nephtysis 01-24-2010 07:03 PM

Maya export >> obj >> ase :)
 
3 Attachment(s)
I did a bit of looking around and I found a way to get objects from maya (I use 2009, might be different on other/earlier versions!).

Firstly you will need a plug-in called: objExport.mll (I got it automatically with my installation of the program, again this may be different for others)

Then you go to: Window >> settings/preferences >> Plug-in Manager

Make sure this plug-in is loaded.

Next you can simply use: File >> Export all/Export selection and export as obj.

1 note: you can't export NURBS this way to obj, so make sure you use polygons. There might be a way around this, but I'm not proficient enough with the program yet to make that work.

And of course the proof in the form of screenshots, using a simple object :)

Hope this helps you ppl with getting more objects in Alice :)

jediaction 01-25-2010 09:11 AM

Thats cool. Maya 2010 is what i have, i had 2009, and now trial for 2010. I know how to use Maya very well, and wow, you got an object into Alice. Alice can now like completely be start from cratch games~!

Nephtysis 01-25-2010 11:19 AM

[QUOTE=jediaction;16050]Thats cool. Maya 2010 is what i have, i had 2009, and now trial for 2010. I know how to use Maya very well, and wow, you got an object into Alice. Alice can now like completely be start from cratch games~![/QUOTE]

I'm not that good with Maya yet, but I'm learning. And the best part is that I have this 2009 unlimited version completely free, along with a couple of tutorials :D I'm still wondering as to whether it will really work with complex objects and those things, but as soon as I know more on this, I'll just post here again :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.