Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   How to send a function to clipboard (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=2264)

wongwanchap 02-13-2009 07:14 AM

How to send a function to clipboard
 
Anyone know how to send a function to clipboard.

The reason why I want to do that is because everytime I want to use some basic (really basic) function (eg. == != .toString etc..), then I need to first click world, then click function, then scroll down to find the function, finially drag it to the position I want, which is quite time consuming...

Anyone know is there exisit any fast way to call out those function?

DrJim 02-13-2009 11:20 AM

A slightly messy way to do that is to use the function in a valid expression and then put that expression on the clipboard. You can then drag the expression back into your program and extract the function from it and put it where you want.

Note you have to use the clipboard. A straight copy usually (always?)doesn't work.

Also you can increase the number of available clipboards using the Edit>Preferences>SeldomUsed menu.

wongwanchap 02-13-2009 12:55 PM

Yeah, it's a clever way.

It really save my time.(i guess)

Hope the next version of Alice can provide a place to let us put our usual function and method..

DrJim 02-14-2009 12:13 PM

1 Attachment(s)
If you have too many frequently used functions and methods for the clipboards to help, you could also use functions with a dummy object to hold the expressions (see attached). At least the frequently used functions will always be at the top of the function list.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.

Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.