Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Suggestion Box (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   camera window (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3879)

jediaction 02-19-2010 04:19 PM

I see. Thats a big problem. We will just use like variables. W,S,A,D move Player 1 is "player 1" = true. if = false, then dont move him. We will just do that with everyone else too. The host would be able to do whatever they wanted. I would be incharge of making maps and game play. King game (gorit) is incharge of the rofiles and siignals to different worlds. I will help but after the game play.

Dameria 02-19-2010 04:26 PM

jediaction, what he was saying was a suggestion, not a problem.

It is a good suggestion, but that would only be if we wanted to do co-op. What I think we are leaning more towards is the multiplayer aspect, where we have only 1 window open, but on 2 separate computers. There is no need for a second window once we get the servers up and running.

There is one thing wrong with your idea though (just in case you do decide to make a co-op game): the player2 would only be allowed to click one thing at a time, they would not be able to click the up arrow key, and enter to fire at the same time, because it would be getting saved through a text file, and (although it is not [i]impossible[/i]) it would be hard to determine two keyboard inputs at once (although player1 would be able to do it).

arty-fishL 02-19-2010 04:49 PM

Good point, good ideas
 
Yeh, I see where your coming from.

Also, see with the online play, how do we stop some sad person from editing the world to create a 'hacked' version that means they could cheat at the online game, like changing a life number variable (or something like that) up to way over the top, or even if that variable was set in game they could add a method that kept changing that variable back up?

jediaction 02-19-2010 04:55 PM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;17213]Yeh, I see where your coming from.

Also, see with the online play, how do we stop some sad person from editing the world to create a 'hacked' version that means they could cheat at the online game, like changing a life number variable (or something like that) up to way over the top, or even if that variable was set in game they could add a method that kept changing that variable back up?[/QUOTE]


We have had a discussion abotu this and we said there will be a detector to say if someone is hacking. Then we will ban there account.

[QUOTE=Dameria;17212]jediaction, what he was saying was a suggestion, not a problem.

It is a good suggestion, but that would only be if we wanted to do co-op. What I think we are leaning more towards is the multiplayer aspect, where we have only 1 window open, but on 2 separate computers. There is no need for a second window once we get the servers up and running.

There is one thing wrong with your idea though (just in case you do decide to make a co-op game): the player2 would only be allowed to click one thing at a time, they would not be able to click the up arrow key, and enter to fire at the same time, because it would be getting saved through a text file, and (although it is not [I]impossible[/I]) it would be hard to determine two keyboard inputs at once (although player1 would be able to do it).[/QUOTE]


I was looking at it like a problem.

Dameria 02-19-2010 05:01 PM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;17213]Yeh, I see where your coming from.

Also, see with the online play, how do we stop some sad person from editing the world to create a 'hacked' version that means they could cheat at the online game, like changing a life number variable (or something like that) up to way over the top, or even if that variable was set in game they could add a method that kept changing that variable back up?[/QUOTE]

Yes you are absolutely right arty, hacking would be a serious issue, but I guess for now we just have to continue on just assuming that no one is going to change the code that is already there. We have to learn to walk before we can run (actually make multiplayer work before we worry about potential problems).

In reality though, I don't see a way to stop people from doing it. I however see on a screenshot of the mama program some like "create exe". Could this possibly be used to create a .exe from the Alice world we make? If it is (and I know completely nothing about mama), then we might be able to make the game, and then create a .exe from it and just save that through the internet, then we could all play through the .exe (because it would show no code, therefore nothing for us to change before playing).

If the "create exe" is not what I think it is though, then I see no other way of preventing hacking other than to hack Alice itself and change the code so that the code is not showing when you open the world.

[QUOTE=jediaction;17216]We have had a discussion abotu this and we said there will be a detector to say if someone is hacking. Then we will ban there account.[/QUOTE]

I think that banning their account is a little too harsh, and should [b]only[/b] be done if it is absolutely necessary. I think we should try my idea first, but if it doesn't work then I guess we have no choice but to ban.

[QUOTE=jediaction;17217]I was looking at it like a problem.[/QUOTE]

But it is not a problem because the multiplayer game will only need 1 window.

jediaction 02-19-2010 06:27 PM

[QUOTE=Dameria;17218]Yes you are absolutely right arty, hacking would be a serious issue, but I guess for now we just have to continue on just assuming that no one is going to change the code that is already there. We have to learn to walk before we can run (actually make multiplayer work before we worry about potential problems).

In reality though, I don't see a way to stop people from doing it. I however see on a screenshot of the mama program some like "create exe". Could this possibly be used to create a .exe from the Alice world we make? If it is (and I know completely nothing about mama), then we might be able to make the game, and then create a .exe from it and just save that through the internet, then we could all play through the .exe (because it would show no code, therefore nothing for us to change before playing).

If the "create exe" is not what I think it is though, then I see no other way of preventing hacking other than to hack Alice itself and change the code so that the code is not showing when you open the world.



I think that banning their account is a little too harsh, and should [B]only[/B] be done if it is absolutely necessary. I think we should try my idea first, but if it doesn't work then I guess we have no choice but to ban.[/QUOTE]

exe. is the future. Start easy first

Dameria 02-19-2010 06:37 PM

Yes but does mama's "create exe" work properly yet? Or is it still buggy? I have never used mama.

x2495iiii 02-19-2010 11:39 PM

It works pretty well, but it's not perfect yet. You can play RP3 as an exe file, for example, but several small things have been changed, like the fonts of the 3d texts, the counters not working, and stuff like that.

Also, for the multiplayer world thingy, why don't you create it so that vital things, like life numbers, are saved with the data that's on the server (that only you can access) and read to each user's account when they load it. It'd be a lot of text, but text files are small.

Or you could use a jython script to read vital variable values in the game (and/or methods that alter them) and check them against a static list and determine if the user is trying to cheat based off of the results of the comparison.

arty-fishL 02-20-2010 02:37 PM

Is there anything like that for Alice
 
[QUOTE=x2495iiii;17249]It works pretty well, but it's not perfect yet. You can play RP3 as an exe file, for example, but several small things have been changed, like the fonts of the 3d texts, the counters not working, and stuff like that.[/QUOTE]

I just tried Mama and I still prefer Alice, if I was to use it I would just use it for the object modeller that doesn't need to take ages to convert and the exe export. The scripting thing is also different, with all Python being called from methods and no scripting done in the [I]edit script[/I] bit (or I just I can't find that bit) and no command bar, it is quite annoying.

Is there any other way to import alice files rather than renaming them from a2w to mam, this works, but not without problems, ?

x2495iiii 02-20-2010 03:45 PM

You're supposed to do it inside Mama by clicking Tools>Import Alice World.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.