Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Questions and Comments (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Alice used for Runescape? (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=401)

m0u53m4t 10-08-2006 06:23 AM

Alice used for Runescape?
 
Was Alice used to create RuneScape? It appears perfect for the job...

Mr Nemo 10-08-2006 09:21 PM

I don't think so. Alice is, I believe, prohibited from being used for commercial purposes. Is that correct, Gabe?

m0u53m4t 10-10-2006 04:51 PM

Have you tried playing it? The whole thing looks like it could've been. Im not sure, but it even looks like the correct java output as well. I recommend you guys take a look.

Mr Nemo 10-10-2006 10:37 PM

I've played it, and I hate to say this- but the graphics in Runescape are far better than what Alice is capable of supplying. To top it off, I don't believe Alice is capable of handling input from 2000 people at once.:)

m0u53m4t 10-11-2006 02:50 AM

Fair enough. I was just wondering.

gabe 10-11-2006 06:45 PM

Alice is probably not capable of creating something as complex as Runescape (it would take a very dedicated [insane? ;)] Alice user to even attempt it!).

m0u53m4t 10-12-2006 10:54 AM

But they have a team of about 20-30 programmers, loads of moddlers and a whole lot of money to spend. I think its quite probable.

DrJim 10-12-2006 02:09 PM

I think basically you're asking the wrong people the question. Except for the fact they [B]aren't[/B] working with CMU, or Gabe would know, all you're getting here is guesses. I think they're very good guesses for many reasons - but also I've never played Runescape and have only visited their website once.

Why don't you make a short summary of your question (being sure to explain what Alice is) and post it on one of the sites devoted to Runescape. You surely will get replies from people more familiar with the program than I am and you might get a response from one of the actual developers. :)

thewhiterabbit. 11-02-2006 09:11 AM

I Found A Way To Use Alice For Runescape, But You Gotta Run A Program That Adds A Plugin To The Alice System.

Its Called

Format C Drive.

LOOK IT UP

DrJim 11-02-2006 11:48 AM

You forgot a command.
 
You forgot the "Load and execute suggestor!" command. :D

It's very important in cases of this type.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.

Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.