Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   "wait" (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3462)

tovaanu 11-24-2009 04:50 PM

"wait"
 
Ok, i have something working properly but i need the "wait" enforced after x amount of times before the next action triggers.

Example:

System askes users 2 x 2?

If answer != 4
House Blows up

how do i put like a wait 4 seconds where by the user had 4 seconds to input the answer otherwise the house will blow up, this is to prevent the use of calculator etc... hope someone gets me o_o using a variable.

zarfang8 11-24-2009 04:54 PM

Use a Boolean Variable.
If Answered=True, Win
If Answered=false, Blow up House.

Have it set to false when you start.
When You select 4, have answered set to True.

tovaanu 11-24-2009 05:12 PM

[QUOTE=zarfang8;13582]Use a Boolean Variable.
If Answered=True, Win
If Answered=false, Blow up House.

Have it set to false when you start.
When You select 4, have answered set to True.[/QUOTE]

i understand what you are saying here but i thin you've mis read my question xD

I was alice to wait 4 seconds for an answer otherwise "House Blows Up"

so if the answer is 4 = Next Level
" " " Not 4 = House Blow up
If user doesn't answer in 4 seconds = House Blow Up


This is the job of "Wait" but i have no idea how to enforce it.

jediaction 11-24-2009 05:23 PM

Make it so "while something is true", do wait 4 seconds and if you click or do whatever within those 4 seconds set to false, put the 4 seconds thing in "while" not in the beginning or the end.

While something is true
Begin
While=Do in order "wait 4 seconds then house blow up
End
------------
But
------------
if button pressed before the "while"action is finished
set to FALSE

Hope this helps

reuben2011 11-25-2009 06:55 PM

Doesn't the world temporarily in a sense "stop" when a "ask user for [variable]" pops up? I do not think it is possible to stop the prompt before the answer is given. You could however use 3d text to ask the question and use an "when a key is typed" event.

zarfang8 11-25-2009 07:29 PM

[QUOTE=tovaanu;13585]i understand what you are saying here but i thin you've mis read my question xD

I was alice to wait 4 seconds for an answer otherwise "House Blows Up"

so if the answer is 4 = Next Level
" " " Not 4 = House Blow up
If user doesn't answer in 4 seconds = House Blow Up


This is the job of "Wait" but i have no idea how to enforce it.[/QUOTE]

Do you mean you don't know how to wait?
It's easy. you just drag, "Wait" into your method, and set it to 4=seconds. it is under Do in Order to the right of the methods tab. It is next to Print and the White "Comment" button.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.