Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Transfer Poses to other models (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=487)

MiR 11-12-2006 06:07 AM

Transfer Poses to other models

Hi, I am new to Alice but a fairly expierienced Programmer.
My question is a very simple one: Is there any possibility to speed up the process of building poses by transfering the pose information to other modells of a structurally identical type (from one He-Builder based model to another etc.)?
The workaround can be based on internal or external tools anyhow.
I found out, that the exported objects are saved as a zipped struture of xmls, so maybe there is a way by unzipping the models info, copying the desired poses and rezipping the model into a new one. But as I don't have time to analyse the structure in detail, maybe the programmers can help with a clue?
Has anyone tried such an approach?
The background for this is, that I am trying to do some movie work (thinking of machinima or so) with Alice and this limitation produces work where no work should be needed.
As far as I understand, this feature remains unimplemented due to the educational approach Alice is dedicated to. But maybe there is an external tool anywhere around for cases like this?

Thx for help
Michael

MiR 11-12-2006 07:06 AM

Transfering is possible in general

1 Attachment(s)
Ok, I tried this and actually this works out quite fine.
To transfer the poses and methods between equivalent models (he to she or so) the following procedure worked for me:
1. Save the models as a2c to disk
2. rename the models to .zip
3. unzip the models to different folders
4. copy the changed/additional folders from the source model to destination model
5. change in the rootfolder of the model the file elementData.xml with an editor.
Here we have to change
a) the child elements: add the missing methods/poses