Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Share Objects (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   What Am I Doing Wrong? (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6391)

room14 04-23-2011 10:50 PM

What Am I Doing Wrong?
 
1 Attachment(s)
I have been trying to export models into alice with sketchup, but it won't let me export with subparts.I have followed King Gamer's tutorial(check it out [URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sIw9x8rBDWU"]here[/URL]) but still couldn't do it. I have attached a video, please tell me what I am doing wrong.

room14 04-24-2011 07:33 PM

Anyone?
 
Bump.

arty-fishL 04-24-2011 09:58 PM

Tbh I never understood his tutorial properly anyway. I will check it out tomorrow and see if I can help.

jediaction 04-25-2011 12:07 PM

You should look at X's tutorial

David B 04-25-2011 07:56 PM

[QUOTE=jediaction;34604]You should look at X's tutorial[/QUOTE]

I'll stay out of this thread because I can't help, but it might help jedi if you post a link to it.

room14 04-26-2011 03:51 AM

1 Attachment(s)
blender doesn't work for me..:(

EDIT: I have this ase file that does not import into alice why?

arty-fishL 04-26-2011 12:15 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Fixed it.

If you expand the details in the error, somewhere at the top (in amongst all of the java rubbish) it says [I]We're sorry, but names in Alice may not be empty.[/I]

To fix this just open the ASE as a text file (ie in notepad) and search for [I]NAME ""[/I] . Then just stick different names into each set of [I]""[/I] - eg [I]NAME "some_name"[/I] .

Also that is either a very badly modelled plane or rubbishly converted, because it doesnt look very good in Alice.

room14 04-26-2011 04:55 PM

[QUOTE=arty-fishL;34707]Fixed it.

If you expand the details in the error, somewhere at the top (in amongst all of the java rubbish) it says [I]We're sorry, but names in Alice may not be empty.[/I]

To fix this just open the ASE as a text file (ie in notepad) and search for [I]NAME ""[/I] . Then just stick different names into each set of [I]""[/I] - eg [I]NAME "some_name"[/I] .

Also that is either a very badly modelled plane or rubbishly converted, because it doesnt look very good in Alice.[/QUOTE]
:eek: that is hideous! well thanks anyways.

room14 05-14-2011 03:48 PM

bump^

arty-fishL 05-14-2011 07:39 PM

[QUOTE=room14;35715]bump^[/QUOTE]
Is this not solved?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.

Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.