Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   Suggestion Box (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Built in collision (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4378)

Watsamax1 05-08-2010 09:55 AM

Built in collision
 
For Alice 30 collision would be nice. Plus a option to turn it on and off. Because i put my collision in when the worlds starts do, so i dont have 2 million options. If theres a better way please tell me. Plus with it built in it doesn't take time to say if im witting 1 meter ok test nope its gotta be 0.8 meters.

jediaction 05-08-2010 10:15 AM

Im not sure what your asking...but...you can just to turn on and off, use my other example i made and you can just to the normal Event collisions or a method way of using If Else statements, are you new to Alice because that would vary my suggestion to you. If you know how to use If Else statements then follow my past instructions

Watsamax1 05-08-2010 11:49 AM

I know how to make a collision. As by turn on and off is say you want to be able to enter something idk. maybe a car where if you have a collision now you may enter it and stuff like that. "Or buildings with interiors. So you just dont et kicked out of the building vehicle or that.

jediaction 05-08-2010 02:04 PM

It would be using True and False

Dameria 05-08-2010 09:26 PM

[QUOTE=jediaction;21022]Im not sure what your asking[/QUOTE]

I'm pretty sure he is suggesting this for the Alice Team to implement in Alice 3.0, considering that this is the suggestion box. I agree they should have a collision detection method in Alice 3.0. They are all smarter than we are, they can probably do it easily for us ;)

jediaction 05-09-2010 08:16 PM

but ther not....I dont know what they are doing right now but does not look like much and i cant contact Gabe

dylmyster22 05-28-2010 02:13 PM

I think what he is saying, or atleast what i would hope to be implemented, is to make it so when you place an object down, such as a building, you can go into properties, and there is an option to make it un able to pass through. That would be kind of helpful and would make it easier on the code being put into the methods.

zenteo 06-04-2010 03:24 PM

Or even better:
Implement a physic engine in Alice!
THAT would be AWSOME!

noahx23 06-09-2010 06:43 PM

[QUOTE=zenteo;21978]Or even better:
Implement a physic engine in Alice!
THAT would be AWSOME![/QUOTE]

Most definetly awsome:D:D

Dameria 06-09-2010 07:03 PM

Haha yeah that would be awesome. To bad it would make everything so slow that you could barely do anything else complex within the game :/


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.

Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.