Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Fps help (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4467)

Watsamax1 05-21-2010 10:39 PM

could it be because i have no bullets yet?
(Edit) possible may of found it i set my ammo and total ammo to 1 to test it i set to 15 again and it stopped. I can make me stop moving for a cutscene. But how do i stop moving the camera? i can stop jumping reloading but the moving i cant. Because i use let arrow keys move < >

Dameria 05-21-2010 10:42 PM

No that shouldn't be the reason. The world.ammo variable should be working as the bullets, the bullet object itself won't really matter much unless you use it as a collision detection to determine when something is hit (although there are other ways to do bullet collision without using actual bullets, but both ways have their pros and cons, so stick with bullets for now). Are you sure you made "ammo" a world variable and not a method variable?

EDIT: You will want to create your own custom movements for moving the camera, because you will not be able to stop it if you use the "let arrow keys move camera". I have to go in 10 minutes, but I will help more tomorrow. You can check some of my recent worlds on how to create custom events to move the camera, just look at the events bar and see how I did "While (up arrow) is pressed, move camera forward 0.1 meters duration 0 seconds" (the duration has to be 0 in order to prevent a world stopping error (I don't know why it produces an error, but it does, and the 0 stops it from doing that)) You can enter in any number for 0.01 to make it go faster or slower.

Watsamax1 05-21-2010 10:58 PM

figured it out. i missed the two up it had to be total ammo > than ammo. works great thank you.

Dameria 05-21-2010 11:00 PM

[QUOTE=Watsamax1;21597]figured it out. i missed the two up it had to be total ammo > than ammo. works great thank you.[/QUOTE]

Your welcome, any other questions just private message me or create a new thread that we can discuss on, this one should be about the other guy and the health system.

Watsamax1 05-21-2010 11:01 PM

Tomorrow is ok. its like 12 am. just im curious is like let <- move camera will that effect collision you can answer it tomorrow.

Dameria 05-22-2010 08:58 AM

Letting the arrow keys move the camera through separate events should be the same thing as letting the arrow keys move the camera in that one event, except that you will also be able to have more control over what happens when you click the arrow keys, like having the option to prevent the camera from moving if its a cutscene.

Watsamax1 05-22-2010 09:54 AM

Could i do ammo so if you get 3 rounds of like 12 shots. then you cannot shoot. Then you get a ammo pack then it sets it all to max? like make a number even have it equal 3 for 3 rounds. and have if reload decrement round by 1 right?

Dameria 05-22-2010 10:19 AM

If by "round" you mean a clip of ammo, then yes, and it would make things a little easier, but it would also waste ammo. For instance, if you have 12 bullets in the gun and only 1 clip of 12 bullets left, what if they shoot 3 times and then reload? What would happen is that you still have 9 bullets left, but because you are reloading, you are emptying what is already in the gun and putting in the last clip, so you will have 12 bullets left instead of 21.

The plus side to what you want to do, however, is that it will make the reloading of your game even more realistic than games like Call of Duty and other large franchise games, because this is what would happen in real life. In real life you only have a certain amount of clips with a certain amount of bullets in one clip, and once your reload, you will lose all of the bullets that you did not use in that clip of ammo, and that is what you want to do, it is more realistic. The reason that big video game companies use the other system, the less realistic one, is because the players would complain about running out of ammo too quickly because they reload after every shot. The way you want to do it will teach people to use their bullets sparingly and only reload once they are very low on ammo in each clip.

Either way is good, you choose which one you want to do.

fenderstrat0409 05-22-2010 11:43 AM

I had this same problem, I just fixed it. Do you have the arrow keys set to control the camera? If so then it's going to do that. So What I did Is I set in a character for myself. "Sheriff" and I made the camera vehicle the sheriff and the arrow keys control the sheriff. It fixed my problem :)

Watsamax1 05-22-2010 12:02 PM

I think you can only reload when done or have few bullets left. yes its a clip of ammo. Id rather my game be a lil harder than others. ammo will b collected by spheres with a gun in it. Health a medic kit. Be kinda cool. also added a night vision not the best but tis ok.

(Edit) i got the spheres to work. Just need to have em move down when clicked on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.