Alice Community

Alice Community (http://www.alice.org/community/index.php)
-   How do I...? (http://www.alice.org/community/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   alice isn't working :( (http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=5919)

beachbum111111 01-28-2011 02:24 PM

alice isn't working :(
 
Alice has always worked before but now everytime i try opening it it says "an unknown error has occurred". I have tried uninstalling and re-installing it but it still does the same thing. Can someone please help???

zonedabone 01-28-2011 07:12 PM

It should just keep running after that. I have that happen to me with the new version of alice. Of course, I usually just blame [URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bit_rot"]bitrot[/URL].

Angeliksmyle 01-28-2011 09:58 PM

Try...
 
I had an issue n my computer where Alice wouldn't run either. After reading another forum, I took someone's advice and started a new user on my computer just to log into to run Alice and it worked like a charm. Give it a try?

beachbum111111 01-29-2011 07:08 PM

alice worked fine until I downloaded jediactions halo game. now every time i try to open alice it says: an unknown error has occured. and the backround alice screen stays there until i shut down my computer.

zonedabone 01-29-2011 07:21 PM

[QUOTE=Angeliksmyle;30738]I had an issue n my computer where Alice wouldn't run either. After reading another forum, I took someone's advice and started a new user on my computer just to log into to run Alice and it worked like a charm. Give it a try?[/QUOTE]

There's some advice. Some software likes to run in what we geeks call a sterile environment. (EPIC MADE UP ON THE SPOT PHRASE) But seriously, this can help a lot of programs. Try it. If it works and a game breaks it, you can just reload a new account. (also maybe make it non-admin so any evil programs can't do anything.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.

Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.