Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
Watsamax1
Senior Member
 
Watsamax1's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 155
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 05-15-2010, 04:16 PM

boot-camp work?? i may get windows for my mac. I got boot-camp. Id use it for some games.


___________________________________________________

Watsamax Industries
Games Produced for Watsamax Industries Inc. 2010
Watsamax Industries: New York
Watsamax@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001253371874#!/profile.php?id=100001253371874&v=wall
http://www.youtube.com/user/Watsamax
___________________________________________________
   
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-15-2010, 05:56 PM

I have a new idea. Let's get rid of the lag before we talk about the server.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-15-2010, 06:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Gamer(gorit) View Post
I have a new idea. Let's get rid of the lag before we talk about the server.
Is that your idea? If it is, then I agree with you, if there is lag in a program like this where there is only 1 computer, it is only going to be worse when going through a server. Try to make the information move from one world to the other faster. It looks almost as if you are only sending the information ever second, but we should try to stream the information from one program to the next instantaneously.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-15-2010, 07:15 PM

One big problem though in server selection too is speed. I beleve as i stated befor that we shouuld focus on games like checkers before a full game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-16-2010, 09:45 AM

Do you think that, maybe instead of a set server that would be running all the time, we could set up a host server? This way we could have it where the person that is starting the game would be the one who is acting as the server, and all of our information could just be sent to them and then distributed to all of the other computers playing the game?

We don't need someone to have their computer running 24/7 to act as a server, we can just use the person that starts the game as the server. This would, however, require us to trust a person the host with the security of our computer. Unless someone knows how to secure the lines between host and player, the host could possibly access our computers and take information (though I doubt anyone that would use this the game would do that).

So do you think this is a possibility? We could all open up a port, like port 3112, and allow information to go in and out of that port to the host.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dubastot
Senior Member
 
dubastot's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 661
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Two Steps From Hell
Default 05-16-2010, 05:54 PM

That's a great idea Dameria. Isn't that what most video games have anyways though?


I'm a web developer/ designer now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-16-2010, 06:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dubastot View Post
That's a great idea Dameria. Isn't that what most video games have anyways though?
Yeah, I think mostly all video games do that, I got the idea because of Warcraft 3, but even games like MW2 use it, like when it picks the host in the game. Now we just need to figure out how to do that. Zenteo will probably figure it out.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 05-16-2010, 06:28 PM

It is not truely that hard to use host migration. It could just consist of a method that selects a host by there ping to other players. But, I know that that we will not necisarily have to open a port. On most computers there is already a few open ports.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 05-16-2010, 06:30 PM

And these ports will be secure? The host will not be able to access our computer files or upload anything to our computers once they have access through our port?


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
source code
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default source code - 06-03-2010, 05:19 PM

I was wanting to view the source code, but it says it was created in a newer version, are you able to make it available for visual c# 2008 express edition?


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.