Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Suggestion Box

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 02-19-2010, 03:19 PM

I see. Thats a big problem. We will just use like variables. W,S,A,D move Player 1 is "player 1" = true. if = false, then dont move him. We will just do that with everyone else too. The host would be able to do whatever they wanted. I would be incharge of making maps and game play. King game (gorit) is incharge of the rofiles and siignals to different worlds. I will help but after the game play.


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 02-19-2010, 03:26 PM

jediaction, what he was saying was a suggestion, not a problem.

It is a good suggestion, but that would only be if we wanted to do co-op. What I think we are leaning more towards is the multiplayer aspect, where we have only 1 window open, but on 2 separate computers. There is no need for a second window once we get the servers up and running.

There is one thing wrong with your idea though (just in case you do decide to make a co-op game): the player2 would only be allowed to click one thing at a time, they would not be able to click the up arrow key, and enter to fire at the same time, because it would be getting saved through a text file, and (although it is not impossible) it would be hard to determine two keyboard inputs at once (although player1 would be able to do it).


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Good point, good ideas
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Question Good point, good ideas - 02-19-2010, 03:49 PM

Yeh, I see where your coming from.

Also, see with the online play, how do we stop some sad person from editing the world to create a 'hacked' version that means they could cheat at the online game, like changing a life number variable (or something like that) up to way over the top, or even if that variable was set in game they could add a method that kept changing that variable back up?


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 02-19-2010, 03:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Yeh, I see where your coming from.

Also, see with the online play, how do we stop some sad person from editing the world to create a 'hacked' version that means they could cheat at the online game, like changing a life number variable (or something like that) up to way over the top, or even if that variable was set in game they could add a method that kept changing that variable back up?

We have had a discussion abotu this and we said there will be a detector to say if someone is hacking. Then we will ban there account.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dameria View Post
jediaction, what he was saying was a suggestion, not a problem.

It is a good suggestion, but that would only be if we wanted to do co-op. What I think we are leaning more towards is the multiplayer aspect, where we have only 1 window open, but on 2 separate computers. There is no need for a second window once we get the servers up and running.

There is one thing wrong with your idea though (just in case you do decide to make a co-op game): the player2 would only be allowed to click one thing at a time, they would not be able to click the up arrow key, and enter to fire at the same time, because it would be getting saved through a text file, and (although it is not impossible) it would be hard to determine two keyboard inputs at once (although player1 would be able to do it).

I was looking at it like a problem.


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames

Last edited by x2495iiii; 02-19-2010 at 10:28 PM. Reason: Double-posts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 02-19-2010, 04:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Yeh, I see where your coming from.

Also, see with the online play, how do we stop some sad person from editing the world to create a 'hacked' version that means they could cheat at the online game, like changing a life number variable (or something like that) up to way over the top, or even if that variable was set in game they could add a method that kept changing that variable back up?
Yes you are absolutely right arty, hacking would be a serious issue, but I guess for now we just have to continue on just assuming that no one is going to change the code that is already there. We have to learn to walk before we can run (actually make multiplayer work before we worry about potential problems).

In reality though, I don't see a way to stop people from doing it. I however see on a screenshot of the mama program some like "create exe". Could this possibly be used to create a .exe from the Alice world we make? If it is (and I know completely nothing about mama), then we might be able to make the game, and then create a .exe from it and just save that through the internet, then we could all play through the .exe (because it would show no code, therefore nothing for us to change before playing).

If the "create exe" is not what I think it is though, then I see no other way of preventing hacking other than to hack Alice itself and change the code so that the code is not showing when you open the world.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
We have had a discussion abotu this and we said there will be a detector to say if someone is hacking. Then we will ban there account.
I think that banning their account is a little too harsh, and should only be done if it is absolutely necessary. I think we should try my idea first, but if it doesn't work then I guess we have no choice but to ban.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
I was looking at it like a problem.
But it is not a problem because the multiplayer game will only need 1 window.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by x2495iiii; 02-19-2010 at 10:29 PM. Reason: Double-posts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 02-19-2010, 05:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dameria View Post
Yes you are absolutely right arty, hacking would be a serious issue, but I guess for now we just have to continue on just assuming that no one is going to change the code that is already there. We have to learn to walk before we can run (actually make multiplayer work before we worry about potential problems).

In reality though, I don't see a way to stop people from doing it. I however see on a screenshot of the mama program some like "create exe". Could this possibly be used to create a .exe from the Alice world we make? If it is (and I know completely nothing about mama), then we might be able to make the game, and then create a .exe from it and just save that through the internet, then we could all play through the .exe (because it would show no code, therefore nothing for us to change before playing).

If the "create exe" is not what I think it is though, then I see no other way of preventing hacking other than to hack Alice itself and change the code so that the code is not showing when you open the world.



I think that banning their account is a little too harsh, and should only be done if it is absolutely necessary. I think we should try my idea first, but if it doesn't work then I guess we have no choice but to ban.
exe. is the future. Start easy first


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 02-19-2010, 05:37 PM

Yes but does mama's "create exe" work properly yet? Or is it still buggy? I have never used mama.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 02-19-2010, 10:39 PM

It works pretty well, but it's not perfect yet. You can play RP3 as an exe file, for example, but several small things have been changed, like the fonts of the 3d texts, the counters not working, and stuff like that.

Also, for the multiplayer world thingy, why don't you create it so that vital things, like life numbers, are saved with the data that's on the server (that only you can access) and read to each user's account when they load it. It'd be a lot of text, but text files are small.

Or you could use a jython script to read vital variable values in the game (and/or methods that alter them) and check them against a static list and determine if the user is trying to cheat based off of the results of the comparison.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Is there anything like that for Alice
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default Is there anything like that for Alice - 02-20-2010, 01:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
It works pretty well, but it's not perfect yet. You can play RP3 as an exe file, for example, but several small things have been changed, like the fonts of the 3d texts, the counters not working, and stuff like that.
I just tried Mama and I still prefer Alice, if I was to use it I would just use it for the object modeller that doesn't need to take ages to convert and the exe export. The scripting thing is also different, with all Python being called from methods and no scripting done in the edit script bit (or I just I can't find that bit) and no command bar, it is quite annoying.

Is there any other way to import alice files rather than renaming them from a2w to mam, this works, but not without problems, ?


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 02-20-2010, 02:45 PM

You're supposed to do it inside Mama by clicking Tools>Import Alice World.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.