Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice won't run
Old
edster57
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Alice won't run - 09-24-2007, 10:35 AM

We have a very weird issue here. Running XP SP2 and Alice 2.0 04/05/2005. A system admin or teacher can run the program without a problem. Some students will get the splash screen but then nothing. If they log onto another machine in the lab they have no problem. All machines are configured the same, all students have the same rights. It may work one day on one machine and not the next. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Ed
   
Reply With Quote
Alice won't run..
Old
ndateacher
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Alice won't run.. - 12-17-2007, 11:49 AM

We have the same problem with the same type of machines (XP SP2). Administrator works, student accounts don't and logging on to a different machines works sometimes. Also, it will say that Alice is running do you want to run a copy. If you say Yes, it also sometimes works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Ping
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-18-2007, 12:28 AM

you are running Alice from the schools server probally.
I recommend Installing Alice to the desktop and running it that way. If you have any type of *server protection tools* it will not let non-administrators run programs from any folders other than the designated students folder or the desktop. Another thing is the computer may be blocking unknown programs from running to prevent viruses and such. I recommend speaking to the schools system administrator.
   
Reply With Quote
Alice won't run
Old
ndateacher
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Alice won't run - 12-18-2007, 05:02 PM

Alice is installed on c:\program files\ on the actual computer. The problem is not server related, but profile related to each computer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DickBaldwin
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-18-2007, 07:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndateacher View Post
Alice is installed on c:\program files\ on the actual computer. The problem is not server related, but profile related to each computer.
This is really a long shot, but check to see if there is a process running named ImgIcon. It is associated with zip disk software. I had a problem with that the first time I installed and tried to run Alice. If so, you either need to remove that software, stop the ImgIcon process before trying to start Alice, or use the slow version of Alice.

Dick Baldwin
Free Alice tutorials: http://www.dickbaldwin.com/tocalice.htm
Free programming tutorials: http://www.dickbaldwin.com/toc.htm
   
Reply With Quote
I think I am having a similar problem.
Old
BinyJ
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default I think I am having a similar problem. - 01-31-2008, 04:18 PM

The Alice splash image will show up but after a few minutes it says the program is not responding. I have tried both the regular Alice and the Slow and Steady version. I have also tried the IfAliceFailsTryThis but nothing happened. Is there anything else I can try?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.