Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice does not launch.
Old
dyanek
Junior Member
 
dyanek's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Unhappy Alice does not launch. - 02-17-2008, 04:21 PM

When I click on Alice.exe the splash screen displays for a brief second and then nothing happens. I have read the other posts concerning this issue and none of those remedies applied or worked.

I am using an HP Compaq tc4400 tablet with XP Pro and SP2 with an Intel Core 2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00 GHz and 3GB of RAM. The bizarre thing is that Alice ran fine on my previous two tablets [with much of the same software loaded] that had slower chips and less RAM. Alice runs fine on my colleague's tablet which is exactly the same specs with similar software. Also, I have admin rights on the tablet.

I tried installing Alice from the CD provided with the 'Learning to Program with Alice" text as well as from the webSite. I installed each to the C: drive. Both failed to launch.

The Slow and Steady version starts fine. So I can use that in class, it's just that I would prefer to run the same version as my students.

I followed the instructions from another post and have attached my tasklist.txt.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: txt tasklist.txt (6.6 KB, 491 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DickBaldwin
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 02-17-2008, 10:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyanek View Post
When I click on Alice.exe the splash screen displays for a brief second and then nothing happens. I have read the other posts concerning this issue and none of those remedies applied or worked.

I am using an HP Compaq tc4400 tablet with XP Pro and SP2 with an Intel Core 2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00 GHz and 3GB of RAM. The bizarre thing is that Alice ran fine on my previous two tablets [with much of the same software loaded] that had slower chips and less RAM. Alice runs fine on my colleague's tablet which is exactly the same specs with similar software. Also, I have admin rights on the tablet.

I tried installing Alice from the CD provided with the 'Learning to Program with Alice" text as well as from the webSite. I installed each to the C: drive. Both failed to launch.

The Slow and Steady version starts fine. So I can use that in class, it's just that I would prefer to run the same version as my students.

I followed the instructions from another post and have attached my tasklist.txt.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Check and see if you have a process named imgicon, (or a name similar to that), running. If so, it will prevent Alice 2.0 from starting properly but will allow "slow and steady" to start okay.

Dick Baldwin
Free Alice tutorials: http://www.dickbaldwin.com/tocalice.htm
Free programming tutorials: http://www.dickbaldwin.com/toc.htm
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dyanek
Junior Member
 
dyanek's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Default 02-18-2008, 09:28 AM

Dick,

I checked for that and no such luck. I do not have any Iomegaware installed on the machine.

Thanks for the reply and suggestion though. It must be some other process.
-Don
   
Reply With Quote
Old
gabe
Administrator
 
gabe's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default 02-18-2008, 11:29 AM

Can you try booting up with a diagnostic startup? This will allow you to boot only with windows essentials (I believe Alice should still run). Might be a first step in seeing if it is a conflict with another process.

Run > msconfig

Under the General tab, select Diagnostic Startup

Note that you will have to manually change this back to your normal startup after testing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dyanek
Junior Member
 
dyanek's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Default 02-18-2008, 11:13 PM

I restarted in diagnostic mode and Alice started up just fine!

I asked my colleague to send me his tasklist and they are almost identical. I ended any processes that were unique to my machine and still no luck.

Any suggestions? Is there anything in particular that I should look for?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dyanek
Junior Member
 
dyanek's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Smile 02-18-2008, 11:40 PM

Ok. Just got it to work.

I right clicked on the Alice.exe icon and went to the compatibility tab and checked "Turn off advanced text services for this program" and now it works!

Can anyone explain this?

I haven't tried developing any programs yet, but I am assuming that all functionality will still work.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.