Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 3 > Bugs and Trouble Shooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice 3.6 displays horizonal lines ("noise") in "run" and "character building"
Old
yossiy
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Modiin, Israel
Default Alice 3.6 displays horizonal lines ("noise") in "run" and "character building" - 02-26-2021, 09:08 AM

Hi,
I'm a computer sciences teacher from Israel, and an avid fan of Alice 2 for over 10 years.
I am trying to migrate to Alice 3, but when I try to add a person and when I try to run the scene, there are horizontal lines ("noise") along the display window.
I'm attaching a zip file with the examples (the size restrictions you impose on jpg/png file do not enable me to upload the images directly).
I am running Windows 10 Pro on Dell Latitude 5591. I verified that I'm using the latest Alice version (3.6.0.1 build 500) and the latest drivers from Dell.
Please advise,
Thank you
Yossi Yaron
Attached Files
File Type: zip EXAMPLES.ZIP (1.30 MB, 2 views)
   
Reply With Quote
re: lines in display
Old
djslater107
Administrator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 175
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default re: lines in display - 02-26-2021, 09:31 AM

Try this link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0vy8ue7mq8...d_508.exe?dl=0

But before you do so, You may want to check your graphics card, specifically update the drivers for your card. One thing that has helped with machines that are having trouble with Alice is to update the video card drivers for the machines…

See the following link http://alice3.pbworks.com/w/page/549...deo%20Drivers:

Please keep us posted…

All the best,
Don Slater

Alice Project


Don Slater
Alice Team
Carnegie Mellon University
   
Reply With Quote
Unfortunately the new version did not solve the problem
Old
yossiy
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Modiin, Israel
Unhappy Unfortunately the new version did not solve the problem - 02-26-2021, 10:52 AM

BTW, I did verify that I have the latest version of the graphic card drivers before posting the thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Lines in Alice 3.0
Old
djslater107
Administrator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 175
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Lines in Alice 3.0 - 02-27-2021, 12:39 PM

I am forwarding your message and images to the dev team...


Don Slater
Alice Team
Carnegie Mellon University
   
Reply With Quote
What the Alice Team Found
Old
ewbrown
Administrator
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Default What the Alice Team Found - 03-23-2021, 02:07 PM

From our lead developer:

I suspected the JOGL code which lead me to find this:
http://forum.jogamp.org/SOLVED-Purpl...td4040923.html

If it is the same problem, then you are running in to an issue in the interaction between Nvidia, Windows, and JOGL.

The last two comments suggest a fix by prioritizing the dedicated card over the integrated.

http://forum.jogamp.org/SOLVED-Purpl...td4040923.html

[SOLVED] Purple and Green Lines/Stripes on All JOGL Windows
[SOLVED] Purple and Green Lines/Stripes on All JOGL Windows. I have a JOGL project that used to work perfectly. I moved to a new PC and now it doesn't. Not even the old builds that were packaged...

We hope this helps and are working to further improve Alice all the time so hope that other upgrades and updates may alleviate this issue. We know changing settings on the computer are not ideal.
   
Reply With Quote
This have indeed resolved the issue.
Old
yossiy
Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Modiin, Israel
Default This have indeed resolved the issue. - 03-26-2021, 12:44 PM

Thank you!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2021, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.