Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-20-2009, 09:59 PM

Pfh. Just get an alienware. No, seriously, you are underestimating yourself. You may not be able to do all that, but with extremely resourceful programming, you can probably do much more than you think and compete with RP 3.5. It is the same problem i will have on my WoW based game. It is just one of the things alice is meant to teach newbies to programming: Resourceful programming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-20-2009, 10:31 PM

Lol, funny how Alice is turning into the gaming industry. We have Halo type games from me, Call of Duty games from Jedi, a WoW game from you, original games from (hold on....... copy..... paste) x2495iiii.

It is our own little gaming universe.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 10:46 PM

Hey, don't forget about me making the small but well-programmed minigames, like tic-tac-toe

I actually have never played your infiltration game, I think I will try it now.

EDIT: Oh yea now I remember, I tried to play it but it said "Error in trying to draw the scene. Simply retrying might fix this." But no matter how many times I pressed retry, I got the same error, so now I can't play it.

Hey, I'm post 123 on this thread =D


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by Dameria; 12-20-2009 at 10:50 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-20-2009, 11:04 PM

Ya, well, this post is the first three powers of 2 (0 to 2). BTW, until i can figure out to create subparts to an object, i can't even start my WoW program. Anyway, back on topic, I'm lookin forward to yours!!

Quote:
Hey, don't forget about me making the small but well-programmed minigames
And, Dameria, are you saying jedi's games, Mr. X's RP series (yes, i'm too lazy to copy paste :P), Chris' infiltration, and my future WoW game(hopefully) isn't well programmed?? I recommend not insulting the super moderator. JK!! I just showed you how politics work!

Last edited by Delpenator; 12-20-2009 at 11:08 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-20-2009, 11:14 PM

Lol, I could have named a ton of people, but I was just trying to refer to the ones that have to do with real life games. And then I mentioned RP because it was the first thing that came to mind when I thought of a recent big-time mini game. I like your games too dameria. Keep them coming!!

Also, don't hit retry. Try hitting ignore and then playing it. Has anyone else had this problem?


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 11:22 PM

Thats weird, when I do give up instead of retry, it just makes the graphics grey and I can do every method, but there is no visuals. I got it to work though 1 time, which was really weird because I move random stuff in the black screen that I saw, and then pressed play and I could see it. But then when I tried it again I could not get it to work.

This is the message I got:
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.RuntimeException: DirectDraw does not have enough display memory to perform the operation.

EDIT: By the way, if you help to decide what I am going to make over winter break, you may see me making a shooting game if that is what you vote towards:
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3679

Or if you want you can vote to have me make a different kind of world, but I think it is going to be a shooter.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by Dameria; 12-20-2009 at 11:27 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 12-20-2009, 11:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delpenator View Post
And, Dameria, are you saying jedi's games, Mr. X's RP series (yes, i'm too lazy to copy paste :P), Chris' infiltration, and my future WoW game(hopefully) isn't well programmed??
No, I'm just saying that it is well-programmed like the rest of the game creators' games you mentioned, so you should have included me in the list


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by Dameria; 12-20-2009 at 11:38 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-20-2009, 11:37 PM

Sorry about not including you.

lol, actually no. look at my post on your what should i make thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-20-2009, 11:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris101b View Post
RP is one of those games that is just so addicting to play and just absolutely amazing. x2495iiii... I may never be able to type your name out without copy/paste, but I have to say that you are amazing at game making.
Thanks! I'm glad you think so!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris101b View Post
It is like trying to compare geometry wars with halo.
Geometry Wars? Never heard of it... Googling... Oh, looks interesting. Again, too bad I don't have an XBox.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris101b View Post
Oh I could do that all in one game.... my computer would crash though. Lol. I was talking about Halo 3 having all of that stuff, not my game. I wish Alice could handle a lot more than it does right now. It is really the only thing that is limiting some of my ideas.
That's why I've been trying to expand the possibilities of Alice. My latest attempt has been with using hi-res textures on simple models to make better looking scenery (it's working fairly well). Delpenator is right (not about the Alienware thing, I've never tried one of those, but I love my Toshiba), resourceful programming can get you far if you're creative and willing to experiment. That's what I did to get rid of the lag in RP2.

However, it will only get you so far. If you're willing to take a big step to the next level, I'd suggest you try out Irrlicht. It's a very nice 3d engine which can handle a lot more than Alice can, but is much harder to work with, as it's all code based. It does have a lot of resources available, however, like "alternative terrain renderers, portal renderers, exporters, world layers, tutorials, editors" and so forth (taken right from the site). Here's the link:

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Delpenator
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-23-2009, 10:53 PM

Quote:
Delpenator is right (not about the Alienware thing, I've never tried one of those, but I love my Toshiba),
Are you saying you have never heard of alienware???
Here is the website: (whether you have heard about it or not)
http://www.alienware.com/
Sickest computers ever! Wish i had one.

Quote:
You may not be able to do all that, but with extremely resourceful programming, you can probably do much more than you think and compete with RP 3.5.
Of course there is always limitations.

Quote:
That's why I've been trying to expand the possibilities of Alice. My latest attempt has been with using hi-res textures on simple models to make better looking scenery (it's working fairly well).
Lol, you are not expanding the limitations of alice, you are just expanding your understanding of the limitations of alice.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.