Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Suggestion Box

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ill try to make one
Old
KaiChang
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default ill try to make one - 02-22-2010, 08:25 AM

ill make a simple racing game, including 1 player or 2 player options. Post it when its done, might be a while b/c of school.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 02-22-2010, 11:16 AM

Cant wait. Im going to make a city game where you walk around a city and chat


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
meirs
Senior Member
 
meirs's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Universe
Default 02-22-2010, 01:54 PM

First of all, I really liked to read this thread, it gives me lots of ideas about future extensions to Mama.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
I just tried Mama and I still prefer Alice, if I was to use it I would just use it for the object modeller that doesn't need to take ages to convert and the exe export. The scripting thing is also different, with all Python being called from methods and no scripting done in the edit script bit (or I just I can't find that bit) and no command bar, it is quite annoying.
?
Mama does support free scripting within a separate window and with syntax highlight. I just released version 1.5.2, which improves the configuration - added instructor/administrator config.txt file which dominates the user config.xml file.

So to enable scripting simply edit config.txt within Mama root folder, uncomment the line containing the variable 'enableFreeScripting' and set it's value to true. On the next run you'll see a new button - 'program' - added at the bottom of the editor window. Pressing that button will open a window for writing a free Mama script with syntax highlight. On world start that script will be ran.

Mama language is pretty similar to Python - in the coming days I will add to the documentation (en.eytam.com/mama/doc) a guide for scripting.


Mama is an Alice On Steroids with YouTube uploader, 3d object creator, tutorial editor, and standalone support:
http://www.eytam.com/mama
   
Reply With Quote
Creating exe with Mama
Old
meirs
Senior Member
 
meirs's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Universe
Default Creating exe with Mama - 02-22-2010, 03:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dameria View Post
Yes but does mama's "create exe" work properly yet? Or is it still buggy? I have never used mama.
Mama is quite stable, and the "create exe" is stable as well. I put a lot of effort into the stability of the whole system, since as a programmer I know how important is the reliability of a development tool.


Mama is an Alice On Steroids with YouTube uploader, 3d object creator, tutorial editor, and standalone support:
http://www.eytam.com/mama
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 02-22-2010, 04:02 PM

The only reason why I am hesitant about downloading mama is because I hear that when you create a world it saves it as something different than .a2w? I want to be able to post my worlds on this forum, and I don't know if that would conflict with me being able to do so (would other people be able to play my "Mama" created worlds in Alice 2.2?)

Also, if I were to create a .exe, would I be able to upload that to the internet so people can download and play on Alice 2.2? Or would you need neither Alice or Mama in order to play it? With .exe, will the people playing be able to see the script, or will it only play the game? It would be great if it did not show script and did not require Mama to play it, then we could create anti-cheating online games.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
meirs
Senior Member
 
meirs's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Universe
Default 02-22-2010, 04:37 PM

You can run Alice worlds within Mama, but not the other way. Mama worlds contain additional information not understood by Alice.

Once you create standalone exe file with Mama, you don't need any of Mama or Alice - that's the meaning of standalone. And yes, you can put it anywhere you like, let other download it - and they would be able to run it.


Mama is an Alice On Steroids with YouTube uploader, 3d object creator, tutorial editor, and standalone support:
http://www.eytam.com/mama
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 02-22-2010, 05:13 PM

And there would be absolutely no way (or almost no way) for them to change the code within it? If so then this is exactly what we need for the jython scripting that is being planned in order to prevent cheating...


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 02-22-2010, 05:46 PM

Exactly. Thats what we said, oh and does anyone know how to bring in a pictrue into alice thats like not a square like DOTA. How did you make the title weith the cool red text? It was half transparent


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 02-22-2010, 05:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
Exactly. Thats what we said, oh and does anyone know how to bring in a pictrue into alice thats like not a square like DOTA. How did you make the title weith the cool red text? It was half transparent
Jediaction, I said that before, not anyone else. I am pretty sure I came up with that idea. Also, what do you mean bring a picture into Alice? Do you mean like the fire animation where it is a 2D picture? Ask x2495iiii i think he knows how to do that stuff.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 02-22-2010, 07:18 PM

I dont know how to bring in a half transparent pictrue like a """""not square""""" picture. Chris knows


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.