Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Doom?
Old
chickenpatty878
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ohio
Thumbs down Doom? - 03-08-2010, 10:59 PM

Hello, I'm new to the fourms, and have a newbie question. When i first learned that making games in Alice was possible (i only knew that my terrible animations existed), the first idea that popped into my head was a fps Doom clone. I searched for one, and found nothing similar.

Is this just a very unoriginal and stupid idea of mine, or has it been done before? I'd like to make something as close to the original as possible (most likely not using original textures), and then change it into a totally different plot / enemy after I learn new coding. But it seems like I'm the only one... have I not looked hard enough, or should i just forget all about it and come up with something different?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 03-08-2010, 11:47 PM

No, it's not unoriginal and it's very likely you could make something similar to it in Alice. You'd just need to know how to.

How experienced are you with Alice?


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
chickenpatty878
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ohio
Default 03-08-2010, 11:58 PM

Well, I've been using it for about a year and a half now, but for short animations in a web design class; nothing complicated at all. For about a week I have been understanding a lot more, so I think its possible for me.

I'd definitely need to look up things along the way though. Right now i have been experimenting on getting the controls close to right. I haven't the slightest clue how to set up multiple bullets or scores yet, but i have been learning quickly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 03-09-2010, 12:44 AM

If you need help with a certain concept, I'd be happy to answer any questions you have.

Did the first Doom have visible bullets? It's always been my policy to avoid using visible bullets when possible?

Scores are easy to do, though. 3d text + set text to [variable] as a number = scores.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
shaydon
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 445
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Caspian Border
Default 03-09-2010, 09:12 PM

I am working on counterstrike 1.6 at the moment i would gladly help with any problems =)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
dubastot
Senior Member
 
dubastot's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 661
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Two Steps From Hell
Default 03-13-2010, 10:05 AM

Count me in for helping too!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
chickenpatty878
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ohio
Default 03-16-2010, 10:51 AM

How necessary is it that i use Alice 2.2? Is it possbile to set text to variable in 2.0.7? I am using Linux, and can't seem to install 2.2, even with Wine. But once i get my laptop with Windows working again, I should be able to finish the basic system for what i've been working on.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.