Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
zero00
Senior Member
 
zero00's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 300
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 01-18-2012, 12:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
Touhou?
Basically, though my idea would probably have a more modest number of bullets.

I don't know how to clone and delete things though. I'm assuming Arty-Fish or someone was able to program that into Alice. If you know where I can find that, can you post a link?


==============Some of my Games and Ideas===========

Sky Warrior: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6291
Health Bars: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36968#post36968
Sky Warrior: Dual Force: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7174

Want to make your own space game? http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6389
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow 01-18-2012, 06:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zero00 View Post
Arty-Fish
* Arty-fishL (or just arty)

Read this thread to find out how to do cloning:
Breeding like rabbits

Read this thread for a smart way to use it:
Extended Cloning

Its not foolproof, but using both threads you can get it to work nicely.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zero00
Senior Member
 
zero00's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 300
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 01-20-2012, 10:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Read this thread to find out how to do cloning:
Breeding like rabbits

...

Its not foolproof, but using both threads you can get it to work nicely.
Sorry about that, Arty-FishL
Thank you for posting the code to create new copies of objects! I think I might be able to make a "Touhou"-like game to actually work!

(I can't believe I didn't notice the tutorial you wrote on that post! :P)


==============Some of my Games and Ideas===========

Sky Warrior: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6291
Health Bars: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36968#post36968
Sky Warrior: Dual Force: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7174

Want to make your own space game? http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6389
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 01-21-2012, 02:38 AM

Remember something: The way you deal with the objects after you clone them is important. If you don't do something with them, they will clog your processor and slow your computer to a halt after only a few thousand spheres. This is called a memory leak and is the most disastrous thing ever conceived by workers with poor work-ethic. Fortunately due to many standards in the 3D world where optimization is key, Frustum Culling has been implemented into Alice. Frustum Culling is the act of not rendering things that don't show up on the screen or are outside of clipping range. This is can only go so far however, as when cloning Alice still eventually has to deal with thousands of cloned objects to sort when running the cloning method.
The general idea of proper destruction of old data such as cloned objects is to delete them. We don't know how to do this while running the world. Instead you could (try) a few other things. I have not experimented in this field so I am not entirely certain if they work. You can set them to not show, if you're using sprites you can remove their texture (Or set it to a small 100% transparent box texture), you can toss them (far) off screen, and whatever you might think of.
   
Reply With Quote
Flight Simulator Story
Old
Dj Tech42
Senior Member
 
Dj Tech42's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Join Date: Feb 2011
Lightbulb Flight Simulator Story - 01-22-2012, 02:51 PM

I was thinking about how I could set up an unlockable system in my flight simulator and thought, why don't I put a storyline into it? Right now, it is an arcade style game where you try to get the best time for destroying the enemy. There could be a separate version where you progress through a storyline, kinda like "career" mode.

You start with a plane and apply upgrades and unlock new planes as you complete parts of the game. For the actual game, it could start off with a tutorial showing the player how to fly in the game. Then, it could go to a one-on-one battle with an enemy AI. After that, it could be like Midnight Club Los Angeles where you cruise around and it would be like "free mode" (think GTA). As you are flying around, enemies would be in certain spots and would start chasing you if they see you. You would earn money from destroying enemies. You can use money to buy upgrades and planes.

During free mode, you could fly to other people "on your side" and complete missions. These missions would include getting to areas in a certain time, destroying bosses, and racing competitions. These would earn you a lot of money.

After each mission, you would go back to free mode. There would be a random amount of fog that would slightly change while you are flying. This adds a cool "live" environment effect. There would also be different places. I added maps to 7.0, and I could have the player end up in different maps when coming back from a mission or going to a mission.

I could use text-to-speech, so your allies can help you and you can also listen to the enemies when they are about to chase you.

Do you think this is a cool idea? It would take a while, and I would need some help from members of the forum.


Flight Simulator with Dogfight Modes:
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6840
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow 01-22-2012, 04:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
I was thinking about how I could set up an unlockable system in my flight simulator
...
player end up in different maps when coming back from a mission or going to a mission.
cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
I could use text-to-speech
How?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
Do you think this is a cool idea? It would take a while, and I would need some help from members of the forum.
Sounds very good, but it also sounds like it would push Alice a lot and it would be hard work.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
room14
Senior Member
 
room14's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Default 01-22-2012, 04:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
I could use text-to-speech, so your allies can help you and you can also listen to the enemies when they are about to chase you.
wouldn't the people have no expression or sound robotic?


:D
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dj Tech42
Senior Member
 
Dj Tech42's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 01-22-2012, 04:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by room14 View Post
wouldn't the people have no expression or sound robotic?
I will have to see how the voices sound. If they sound too robotic, I will have to do voice acting somehow.


Flight Simulator with Dogfight Modes:
http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=6840
   
Reply With Quote
Old
room14
Senior Member
 
room14's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Default 01-22-2012, 05:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dj Tech42 View Post
I will have to see how the voices sound. If they sound too robotic, I will have to do voice acting somehow.
or "hire" someone in the community.


:D
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 01-24-2012, 08:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by room14 View Post
or "hire" someone in the community.
Ooh ooh pick me pick me, wait on second thought don't pick me.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.