Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Bugs and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Alice 2.2 is failing to load
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default Alice 2.2 is failing to load - 07-30-2010, 06:34 PM

On my Windows XP, Alice2.2 won't load. It just keeps saying "Loading..." and never actually succeeds.

What I've Tried To Do:
work in 2.0: 2.0 works, but I'm trying to get to 2.2, so...failure.
IfAliceFailsTryThis.exe: Won't load either.
waiting: Gets me nowhere.
redownloading 2.2: It was tiring enough the first time, I'm not going through that again.
screaming in frustration: Didn't help.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.

Last edited by DensetsuNoKaboom; 07-30-2010 at 06:38 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Unhappy 07-30-2010, 07:20 PM

Sometimes I get stuck with that screen that pops up whenever you open Alice, and the actual program never loads. I just go to task manager and end the process, then open it again, and then it completely loads. It only happens every so often for me though.

Edit: I use Windows 7 though.

Last edited by debussybunny563; 07-30-2010 at 08:40 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 07-30-2010, 08:26 PM

Try re-installing it if the other option does not work


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 07-31-2010, 07:57 AM

@bunny: I just tried it and it didn't work.
@jedi: That is the one option I am the most hesitant to do. On this computer, I just plain can't download Alice2.2, and on my other one, Alice2.2 takes what seems like forever to download. The redownloading-and-moving process therefore takes hours of copying files, flash drives, and duct tape.

To make matters worse, I can barely even get my flash drive in to the other computer...

So, no.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Easy!
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Talking Easy! - 07-31-2010, 01:53 PM

I'll just buy you a new computer!

Seriously though, is the wait really that bad? I know it can seem like forever, but just start the download and then do something else for a while (or even download in the evening and go to sleep, then wake up and see if it's downloaded). Is it that much work to reinstall? Can't you just delete the Alice program and all its files, and then download it again, or is there more involved that I don't know about? Anyway, sorry to hear about this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 07-31-2010, 02:17 PM

NICE!!!!!! and yes, try that. But re installing in another location fixed it for me


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 07-31-2010, 09:30 PM

Quote:
Is it that much work to reinstall?
Yes, yes it is.
I'll have to try the "go to sleep and check in the morning" idea, but it sounds kinda..impractical.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Red face 07-31-2010, 09:42 PM

Sorry. Let us know if you get it to work though.

Good Luck!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 08-01-2010, 06:25 AM

Well, I tried waiting overnight.
I got on this morning and the program still hadn't loaded.

I'm going to try reinstalling, even though it may take forever.


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DensetsuNoKaboom
Senior Member
 
DensetsuNoKaboom's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,188
Join Date: May 2010
Location: e4eaf2
Default 08-02-2010, 08:43 AM

OK nvm about reinstalling, I've found the problem to be related to how screwed my computer is.

Hey, but it works now!


Thank you for taking the time to read this signature. This signature loves you.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2.2, alice 2.2, fail, load, loading

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.