Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
3dsmax --> Alice
Old
nathangibson
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default 3dsmax --> Alice - 11-27-2011, 08:59 PM

I'm trying to make a Harry Potter game/movie in Alice. I recently learned of a way to create models in 3dsMax and import them into Alice. I have ran into a road block with 3dsMax though, when I import my Harry Potter models I get all three of them in one model(I have never used 3d software before). It looks pretty much like the image here: http://www.gfxworld.ws/index.php?/ne...ter_3d_models/.

Also, just to test I imported the whole model. For some reason this happened: http://i39.tinypic.com/i3b7ki.png.

I also just found this, but can't seem to get it to work...
http://www.alice.org/index.php?page=...x/3dsmaxplugin

Relating to this I think I have found part of the problem, but I am not sure how to fix it. The model that I originally downloaded came with about 10 .png images. When I export out of 3dsMax, everything looks fine, but when I import into Alice it tells me that the .png files are missing. Is there somewhere I can put these images that will link them to the .ase file that I am trying to import into Alice?

If anyone can help me, I would be very grateful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-27-2011, 11:43 PM

You can apply the png files yourself manually, or you can edit the .ase file in a text editor to reference the exact file name and path of the pngs (my guess is that the png files are showing as missing because they're not in the same folder as the model ase file, try moving them all in the same folder first).


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 11-28-2011, 01:09 AM

The average professional model only really needs three textures. Diffuse, Bump, and specularity. The Diffuse looks normal, the bump looks pink and fruity, and the specularity is gray.
What textures are your 10 images? Are they all diffuse? In that case you need to break down your model. Alice only supports one texture per object.
In the case that you only have three diffuse, one for each character, then you can simply do it that way. Alice does not support anything other than diffuse maps, so you may as well ignore the rest.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
nathangibson
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default 11-28-2011, 02:27 AM

i tried putting the model in the same folder and this happened http://i40.tinypic.com/34gknky.png

any idea how to fix?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Mr Kidnapper
Senior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 442
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default 11-28-2011, 03:22 AM

In 3ds Max, when you export to ASE, you need to check "Mesh Normals" for the model to be smoothed properly. In fact, why don't you check all of them. It's simpler that way.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.