Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > Questions and Comments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Convert a sketchup file
Old
falcolobo
Senior Member
 
falcolobo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 87
Join Date: Sep 2010
Exclamation Convert a sketchup file - 10-12-2010, 09:11 PM

Can some convert this sketch up file? I have the link here: since I can't download anything at the moment (which is why I didn't download sketch up):

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehou...70&prevstart=0
   
Reply With Quote
Remind me tomorrow
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Arrow Remind me tomorrow - 10-12-2010, 09:13 PM

If I remember tomorrow, I'll give it a shot (you can always private message me later to catch my attention ).

i iz sleepy...

EDIT: Seems too high-poly, though I may be wrong. I'll have to see when I import into Blender.

EDIT: Ack, I get an error trying to open it in Blender. Sorry.


Last edited by debussybunny563; 12-21-2012 at 12:00 AM.

|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|Link to weapons collection: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7368 |
|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

I have been dead for quite some time now; not much hope for resurrection.

Last edited by debussybunny563; 10-13-2010 at 02:17 PM. Reason: x the ibex
   
Reply With Quote
Old
falcolobo
Senior Member
 
falcolobo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 87
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default 10-13-2010, 04:35 PM

Oh well thanks anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
falcolobo
Senior Member
 
falcolobo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 87
Join Date: Sep 2010
Question 10-15-2010, 06:50 PM

Wait! Is it possible to get rid of the shield and lower the amount of polygons? Take the colors out if you have to too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
falcolobo
Senior Member
 
falcolobo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 87
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default 10-15-2010, 06:53 PM

Can you do another one if the previous one doesn't work?
OH YEAH! Check it out:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Unhappy 10-15-2010, 07:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcolobo View Post
Wait! Is it possible to get rid of the shield and lower the amount of polygons? Take the colors out if you have to too.
Yes, but unfortunately I can't get it to import into Blender at all, and that means I can't modify the model at all. (I just re-downloaded the model and still get the error)

Perhaps someone who has Sketchup installed (I use just Blender) will have some more luck with it.


Last edited by debussybunny563; 12-21-2012 at 12:00 AM.

|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|Link to weapons collection: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7368 |
|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

I have been dead for quite some time now; not much hope for resurrection.

Last edited by debussybunny563; 10-15-2010 at 07:43 PM. Reason: x the ibex
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-15-2010, 09:54 PM

You need collada files (.dae), not sketchup files to get it to import into Blender.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
falcolobo
Senior Member
 
falcolobo's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 87
Join Date: Sep 2010
Question 10-16-2010, 12:27 PM

I have Sketchup. How do I do it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 10-16-2010, 02:04 PM

Just open it and go to File>Export>3d model and select .dae as the file type.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Arrow 10-16-2010, 03:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
You need collada files (.dae), not sketchup files to get it to import into Blender.
It has the Collada option to download (which is why I don't have certain Noble team models; they're only available as .skp), but I get an error.

Just clarifying.


Last edited by debussybunny563; 12-21-2012 at 12:00 AM.

|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|Link to weapons collection: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7368 |
|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

I have been dead for quite some time now; not much hope for resurrection.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
custom object, google, gundam, mech, sketch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.