Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > General Discussion > The Lounge

A Short Story
Old
dubastot

Default A Short Story - 12-12-2010, 07:44 PM

Who wants to see my short story I have to hand in on Wednesday, I still have to edit it. I know I am a bad writer, but whatever.

Bodies strewn everywhere, the stench of rotting flesh, graveyards overbooked, crows circling the sky. My return to the city was not pleasant. I was one of the few humans remaining on Earth. I would have to fend for myself for the rest of my life: find my own food, and build my own shelter. The bacteria had done the exact opposite of what it was intended to do. Instead of becoming famous for the world’s greatest cure, I will have to live the rest of my life in hiding regretting everything I have done, regretting becoming a researcher, and regretting being ambitious.
I used to live in a world where bacteria did not exist. 100 years before my time, researchers had come up with a way to eradicate bacteria from the face of the Earth. Mixing a small dosage of the antibiotic, oxazolidinone with isopropyl alcohol, resulted in a product capable of eradicating any bacteria. The breakthrough product was used in virtually everything from toothpaste to street cleaning solutions and pesticides/ herbicides. Cities were protected from the outside world with menacing seventy-foot solid concrete walls. These extreme procedures led to the so-called extinction of all strands of bacteria.
Bacteria were forgotten until a series of mysterious deaths started to occur. The newspapers headlines read, “An unknown illness kills several people within a few days of becoming ill.” The illness spread to over one hundred and fifty countries in just a few months. Suspicions arose, little did anyone know the organism that had been supposedly eradicated a few hundred years ago had returned. The illness spread faster than any other before due to dense city populations.