Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Get some output from the Alice environment
Old
sureyya
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default Get some output from the Alice environment - 07-29-2009, 03:19 PM

I'm interested in dumping some output from Alice runs to a file or to standard output (which I'll redirect to a file) for further investigation. Is it possible to do so? Or, does anyone know how to run the source code? There are so many things missing in that package so it just doesn't execute!
I appreciate any help, thanks ..
- S
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 07-30-2009, 11:58 AM

Honestly, this sounds like a question for DrJim. All I know how to do is see the java-like code of the Alice package and objects, not necessarily the output.

To see the code, I save a copy of the world (as a backup), then I extract all files in the world into a separate folder. In the folder are other folders, one representing each object in the world. Clicking on each folder should show you read-only files which contain the java-like code for each object.

Again, I'm really not sure what this does, but it is a good way to get around some error catches Alice has.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
DrJim
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 07-31-2009, 02:28 PM

Since my name got mentioned, I'll add my two cents - though doubt it's even worth that.

The problems you mention have frustrated me ever since I first started working with Alice. While there are many partial work-arounds - none are really satisfactory.

However, Alice 3 Beta is now out. Although it is very frustrating at the moment (I've never had it run for over 10 minutes without a crash) - it does allow you to export to NetBeans (most of the time) - and once you're there, the crashes (mostly) go away and you have a full Java environment, including many I/O options (including some MIDI play options I've always missed in Alice 2.x).

Starting in Alice, however, does let you set up a nice framework for animation - including mult-thread program setup, something I've never come close to mastering.

I suggest you take a look - and also contribute to the bug/suggestion site. In a posting elsewhere, Gabe describes the why's and advantages of that site.

Good luck.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.