Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Following Camera
Old
ScoobyDoobyDont
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Default Following Camera - 05-06-2014, 10:37 AM

How do I code the camera to follow a certain model from a set distance, but also be able to rotate as the model rotates?
   
Reply With Quote
Try this
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Cool Try this - 05-06-2014, 01:37 PM

Thankfully, this is an easy problem to fix. Click the "properties" tab for the camera, and click "vehicle" and set it to that object. You can also drag and drop it into your code to switch the object's vehicle during your program. Experiment around with this!

-jrr
   
Reply With Quote
And This
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default And This - 05-06-2014, 02:42 PM

Good advice JRR-
Another option, is to position the camera to known locations that you will need tor the animation, drop a Dummy on the Camera, and set the Camera's point-of-view to the Dummy when you need it.
You might also want to experiment with telling the Camera to turn as seen by the object it's currently looking at.

The link below is to a thread in the Lounge where I posted a short video that uses these techniques. It's zipped, so click and open to do the Mummy

http://www.alice.org/community/showt...ighlight=mummy
   
Reply With Quote
Cool!
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Talking Cool! - 05-06-2014, 02:49 PM

Ha, That's a really funny animation! Do you still have the a2w file for it? It looks like it was supposed to be a game or something... Anyway, yes, that's another way you can do it... changing the vehicle is easier, though!

-Jrr


Arwen: I would rather share one lifetime with you than face all the Ages of this world alone.

-April Signature
   
Reply With Quote
Still working on it in my spare time
Old
MrMoke
Senior Member
 
MrMoke's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Default Still working on it in my spare time - 05-06-2014, 02:54 PM

Yeah, It's a treasure Hunt- I used all the discussed techniques in that scene. Look for the Multiple Camera Position and Vehicle changes. He Can't get to Act 2 until He gets the key

Moves on from There to multiple levels.

Last edited by MrMoke; 05-06-2014 at 10:13 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
How specifically, though?
Old
ScoobyDoobyDont
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Default How specifically, though? - 05-07-2014, 10:29 AM

I went into myFirstMethod, and made a code that says while true is true, the camera should be a set vehicle to the model, but when I run the program, it doesn't move anywhere.
   
Reply With Quote
Hmm...
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Exclamation Hmm... - 05-07-2014, 10:55 AM

Well, maybe true is false The model needs to move, too. It works just fine for me. Try initially having the vehicle be the model you are going to move. I added an example. Tell if this works! If it doesn't please try attaching your Alice program to a post and we can review it.

-Jrr
Attached Files
File Type: a2w itWorks!.a2w (357.1 KB, 1 views)

Last edited by jrrTolkien; 05-07-2014 at 04:21 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
I Don't Know How To Do Anything You're Telling Me To Do
Old
ScoobyDoobyDont
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Default I Don't Know How To Do Anything You're Telling Me To Do - 05-09-2014, 10:28 AM

Are you using Alice 3.1? This file you sent me can't be read from my Alice 3.1 program, and I don't know how to move it into the Alice saved projects folder(assuming there is one). Also, I don't know how to set the camera to a vehicle, because I can't select the camera, and I can't change the model into a vehicle, because I can only change it between green and brown.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jrrTolkien
Senior Member
 
jrrTolkien's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Middle-Earth (Merrimack, NH)
Default 05-09-2014, 10:50 AM

No I have Alice 2. Alice 3 doesn't run on my machine. Sorry, but I don't think I can be much help on Alice 3 worlds

-Jrr
   
Reply With Quote
It's Okay
Old
ScoobyDoobyDont
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2014
Default It's Okay - 05-09-2014, 10:51 AM

Do you know any place I might look to get help, then? Or should I download Alice 2? It seems Alice 2 is a bit better than Alice 3.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.