Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do I set up a key listener
Old
geek in training
Junior Member
 
geek in training's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Question How do I set up a key listener - 07-26-2011, 10:38 AM

Hi, i just got alice 3 and am relatively new to alice, (not to mention just got an account here today, and am new to my computers OS,) and I can't find out how to set up a key listener for certain keys. Whenever I try, the object just responds to any key. Could someone please help!

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 07-26-2011, 01:22 PM

Not too many people are working with Alice 3 at the moment due to its instability and half-done status.

I could tell you how to do that in Alice 2.2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Nighthawk0973
Senior Member
 
Nighthawk0973's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 240
Join Date: May 2011
Location: In front of my computer.
Default 07-27-2011, 02:29 PM

Well here's the alice 2-2.2 way of doing it: create an event, that's called 'when 'any key' is pressed do 'nothing'' Than you replace nothing with code and 'any key' with a key. You can drag and drop for the code or use a drop down menu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
geek in training
Junior Member
 
geek in training's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-28-2011, 11:00 AM

Yeah, I've done it in alice 2.2 before, which I have some experience in. You said alice 3 is unstable. Do you think I should just stay with alice 2.2? and if I should stay with 2.2, can you download it for linux ubuntu?

thanks for the help.

Last edited by geek in training; 07-28-2011 at 11:05 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,145
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N/A
Default 07-28-2011, 12:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by geek in training View Post
Do you think I should just stay with alice 2.2? and if I should stay with 2.2, can you download it for linux ubuntu?
Yes. You should definetely stay with Alice 2.2.

I am not sure if Alice 2.2 for Linux exsists. As far as I know, it doesn't. You need to use an emulator such as WINE.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 07-28-2011, 02:10 PM

You can, but that's unstable too, unfortunately.

Supposedly you can run the stable windows version of 2.2 in linux.

I think zone's the guy who knows how to do that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
David B
Senior Member
 
David B's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,145
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N/A
Default 07-28-2011, 02:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by David B View Post
Yes. You should definetely stay with Alice 2.2.

I am not sure if Alice 2.2 for Linux exsists. As far as I know, it doesn't. You need to use an emulator such as WINE.
Quote:
Originally Posted by x2495iiii View Post
You can, but that's unstable too, unfortunately.

Supposedly you can run the stable windows version of 2.2 in linux.

I think zone's the guy who knows how to do that.
I've never tried using it, but I have talked to people that have, and they say that it is the best emulator available for Linux. (I assume there are others?)

Zone is writing a new version of Alice, and from rumors that I have heard, he is planning on trying to make it Linux compatible without an emulator. I am not sure if that is true or not. You will have to consult zone about that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Nighthawk0973
Senior Member
 
Nighthawk0973's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 240
Join Date: May 2011
Location: In front of my computer.
Default 07-28-2011, 04:35 PM

2.0 and 2.2 are generally the same thing. 2.2 has some features like intergers as a replacement for numbers but if your running linux than 2.0 will work for you. 2.2s saving is a bit slow compared to 2.0 unfortunately
   
Reply With Quote
Old
geek in training
Junior Member
 
geek in training's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-29-2011, 03:57 PM

I found alice 2.0 for linux. I think I'll just use that instead of running 2.2 in WINE.
Thanks for the help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Nighthawk0973
Senior Member
 
Nighthawk0973's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 240
Join Date: May 2011
Location: In front of my computer.
Default 07-29-2011, 06:00 PM

hey no prob.

PM me if your having any trouble
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.