Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-23-2008, 08:53 PM

Alright, here is V5 and all the changes that came with it:

(Note: To increase the look sensitivity go to the camera, click on the functions tab, and click the edit button by the thing that says look sensitivity. Put it at whatever you want. The higher the number, the faster the turn speed is.)

(Another note: I have added a health system, so to hurt yourself, just press the "J" key. The way the health works is that once you are hit, you will start healing yourself in 5 seconds. This means that if you get hit once and then 4 seconds later you get shot again, your health will begin to re-heal in 1 more second. Once the healing process starts it cannot be stopped until you are healed. This means that you can still be killed though. I will try to change this to make it more like what it is in halo in the next version.)

Additions/changes

1. Changed the boundingBox variables into numerical variables
2. Added look sensitivity
3. Added player health with recharging shield. (Press J to hurt yourself)
4. Added sound to the recharging health and a sound that signifies that your health has recharged.
5. Made it so that the look sensitivity is always at normal speed when in sniper mode.

NOTE: Download the latest version in the first post


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b

Last edited by Chris101b; 12-09-2009 at 08:44 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-23-2008, 09:45 PM

Good stuff, but I'd make the follwing changes:

Change the health bar's color to something like green, blue, or red.

Add a shot counter. Also I'd deactivate the Space bar reload that happens when you just mash the button. Adds challenge to the game.

Adjust the volume of the healing sounds (both of them) so that they're quieter. I could see them becoming annoying quickly at that volume in normal gameplay.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-23-2008, 09:50 PM

The health bar color is definitely going to be changed . I was actually going to try and make it so that the lower it goes, the more red it gets. I was thinking of making it either light blue or green. Ill add your comments to the list of changes and see what I can do, thanks.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-23-2008, 10:29 PM

i was experimenting with using the slider as a health bar, I'll post it if/when I get it working


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-23-2008, 10:44 PM

Got a basic idea. Press and hold v to see the health bar "go down", then release for it to go back.


(')>

Last edited by x2495iiii; 03-28-2009 at 12:06 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-23-2008, 11:53 PM

Hmm, I tried the bar and it is very sensitive to resizing once it gets past the beginning part. It also fails to recharge sometimes. Also, I tried to make it so that while the V key was held, that it would keep resizing and it basically shot off the screen. I might stay with the health system I have currently. I was thinking at different points I would tell the program that when it is at a certain distance to change to this color and repeat a few times. Also, my health bar is in its purest form. In versions to come I will add things around it, a thing that says health at the top, and the color changing thing that I said before. Thanks for your help though.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-24-2008, 12:08 AM

Yeah I didn't finalize it, I figured you'd want to do that. Oh well it was just a thought. I figured it would be easier than making a color change method, since Alice doesn't give you the option of aking the RGB components into variables, you'd have to assign direct color transitions (Green to yellow, yellow to orange, orange to red, etc) instead of being able to go gradually from green to red.

If you do choose to keep your current health bar, though, could you make it semi-transparent? that'd look cool, like a digital HUD type thingy.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-24-2008, 12:20 AM

Very cool idea, ill have to do that. I knew that gradients didn't work in Alice, so I planned to do the "Green to yellow, yellow to orange, orange to red" from the get go. Shouldn't be that hard. I also added a border around the health bar and will have to add some more things to the HUD later on (like shot count, a thing that says that the health bar is the health bar stuff like that). Remember everyone, if you have an idea, feel free to tell me. Trust me, I wont laugh in your face if I don't want to put it in. Thanks.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-24-2008, 02:32 AM

Personally, I'd add a crosshair or something to better show where the bullets go. maybe even a lock-on option (though those are HARD to write, I'm writing one now).

Also, I'd add a third weapon. Something cool, maybe even utilizing the Laser-like attachment underneath the badGuyRobot's gun already.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-24-2008, 02:40 AM

I am going to add a cross hair or a dot or something after I add the bullets. You have to add the bullets before you can mark where they will land.

Negative on the lock on targeting. I don't think that I will need that feature in the game.

A third weapon is a thing that I have tossed around for a while. I don't think that I will add a it though. The entire code has been built around the two weapons and I don't think that it would be necessary. That's not to say that I wont add a new weapon, but it is just something that I don't want to do right now. I might experiment with it later on though. You never know, if I get a spark of genius, I may decide to add one. IDK, it all depends.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2020, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.