Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
set pose
Old
sph
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Question set pose - 10-30-2005, 06:28 PM

ummm how to i set a pose with the camera???


kthnxbubye
   
Reply With Quote
setting a pose with the camera -> try dummy objects
Old
pausch
Director of the Alice Project
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default setting a pose with the camera -> try dummy objects - 10-31-2005, 12:50 PM

If I understand you correctly, you're trying to name a location/orientation that a camera can then be returned to?

In that case, you don't want to pose the camera (which is a reasonable thing to have tried).

Instead, try using a "dummy object."

When you are adding objects, click on the "more controls >>" button.

THen you get a set of controsl, including "drop dummy at camera." That creates a "dummy object" called "Dummy." Then, in your code, you can say

camera.moveTo(Dummy)

Hope this helps!

-- Randy


Randy Pausch
Director of the Alice Project
   
Reply With Quote
Old
gabe
Administrator
 
gabe's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 461
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Default 10-31-2005, 02:50 PM

Just adding on to what Randy has posted, to get the same camera point of view as when you dropped the dummy object, try using the camera.setpointofviewto(Dummy) method.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2024, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x © 1999-2012, Alice 3.x © 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.