Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Works-In-Progress

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
meeatpizza
Senior Member
 
meeatpizza's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 'Murica
Default 05-25-2011, 07:40 PM

Sorry Ive been gone for about a month or more anyways currently i am changing my true/false inventory system to a number one which should be better

anyway here how i am planning it to work

instead of having

slot1, true/false
slot2, true/false
slot2, true/false

i am going to have

slot1, 0 to 10
slot2, 0 to 10
slot3, 0 to 10

each number will be a different item

like
0= none
1=potion
2=sword
3=candle stick

this should make my system simpler and easier to add more items

this overhaul is probably going to take a week to a month


oh and i am also planning on adding gold coins. my plan for them is to not use a inventory slot
rather have text on the side of the screen saying how much gold you have

thanks for reading
any ideas are welcome


Current Alice Projects

WaVE fps engine
Inventory-------- NEED HELP WITH MY INVENTORY!!!!!!!!!-----------------------
GTA Alice

My Website
http://teamamazingstudios.webs.com/

My Unity 3D Game
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hd__0Yyf5U

Last edited by meeatpizza; 09-06-2011 at 08:41 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 05-25-2011, 09:28 PM

I like the idea of using a number variable instead, It will give you more freedom to do more then what you already have.


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
meeatpizza
Senior Member
 
meeatpizza's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 'Murica
Talking 05-26-2011, 06:01 PM

yea i started making this when i was more of a noob than i am now


Current Alice Projects

WaVE fps engine
Inventory-------- NEED HELP WITH MY INVENTORY!!!!!!!!!-----------------------
GTA Alice

My Website
http://teamamazingstudios.webs.com/

My Unity 3D Game
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hd__0Yyf5U
   
Reply With Quote
help please
Old
meeatpizza
Senior Member
 
meeatpizza's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 'Murica
Red face help please - 08-06-2011, 08:39 PM

i am really really stuck right now and any help would be VERY appreciated

anyways my problem is i am trying to make my picking up methods work with

multiple items as it is now it it will only pick the items i have on the ground

i want it so you can add more of the same item in an object variable and if you

click any of them you will pick them up. so i don't have to program each item

if you do want to help i already have a test method called picking up potions

NEW please edit that and if you get it to work re upload it just do that method

and ill copy the new code for the other methods thank you for reading this

if you manage to fix this for me you will get a spot in the credits and my

respect. I wish i didn't need to ask for help but i do so thanks


Current Alice Projects

WaVE fps engine
Inventory-------- NEED HELP WITH MY INVENTORY!!!!!!!!!-----------------------
GTA Alice

My Website
http://teamamazingstudios.webs.com/

My Unity 3D Game
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hd__0Yyf5U

Last edited by meeatpizza; 09-06-2011 at 08:41 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
I need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old
meeatpizza
Senior Member
 
meeatpizza's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: 'Murica
Unhappy I need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - 09-05-2011, 01:32 PM

Help me! Refer to my last post for information on what i need help on
i will not be finishing my inventory unless i figure out this problem

thank you in advance


Current Alice Projects

WaVE fps engine
Inventory-------- NEED HELP WITH MY INVENTORY!!!!!!!!!-----------------------
GTA Alice

My Website
http://teamamazingstudios.webs.com/

My Unity 3D Game
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hd__0Yyf5U

Last edited by meeatpizza; 09-06-2011 at 08:42 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
legolizard
Senior Member
 
legolizard's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 242
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aboard the Hyperion escaping the zerg.
Default 09-05-2011, 02:53 PM

Why not make one general method with one object parameter , one event to run the method and use some if statments to call upon other more specific methods based on the object parameter? You would have to use the "Object under mouse cursor" function.


"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."-Albert Einstein
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inventory. items. stuff.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.