Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-27-2008, 09:45 PM

Any updates since then? It's been, what, two days?


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-27-2008, 10:22 PM

Sorry, I haven't done anything over the past couple of days. I have been working on War Zone 2 as well, so I have to balance it all out. I am actually going to start working on it now.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-27-2008, 10:30 PM

Just curious, I'm not being judgemental or anything. I actually have been away from my computer for the last few days, meaning I've only just now gotten back on track with my projects.

Keep us posted.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-27-2008, 10:31 PM

Don't worry, I didn't take that as judgmental at all. I am going to add rolling right now.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-28-2008, 12:50 AM

Does anyone (Who is fairly experienced with alice) know why the game lags when you are moving forwards and not backwards? When I hold up and left/right, the game experiences horrible lag, but when I hold down and left/right, the game doesn't lag at all. Does anyone know why this is happening?


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-28-2008, 01:29 AM

Figured I would post the next version on here before tomorrow. I am going to be out of town until January 4th or 5th I think. I am not going to be able to make much progress on anything because my dad has pretty strict rules about when I'm allowed to get on my computer. This update added some aesthetic changes as well as some gameplay changes, hope you enjoy. Anyway, here is V7 and a list of changes that I made:

1. Made it so that the health bar turns red when it gets low.
2. Made it so that when your health goes to zero, you die and also made it so that your health does not recharge after death. (The last thing I will add will be to make it impossible to do anything after you die)
3. Made some changes to the HUD: Made the word Health flat, changed the ammo counter texture to pure awesomeness (looks like 3d but it isn’t), and made the health bar texture pure awesomeness as well.
4. Added rolling left and right and made it so that you cannot roll if you are holding forward or backwards.
5. Made it so that the camera re-stabilizes itself so that the camera (over time) never ends up in the sky or under ground.

NOTE: Download the latest version in the first post


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b

Last edited by Chris101b; 12-09-2009 at 08:49 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-29-2008, 01:48 AM

Seems to have an imaging glitch in it, as it refuses to be drawn when I load it up.


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Chris101b
Senior Member
 
Chris101b's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 361
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default 12-30-2008, 02:20 AM

What do you mean? The world isn't loading for you? If it isn't then I have a huge problem on my hands. The game is already glitching and not loading for some people and I haven't added any of the actual game stuff, it is only the character stuff right now. This might be a big problem.


I am nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

www.facebook.com/chris101b
Xbox Live GT: Chris101b
Youtube: (You guessed it) www.youtube.com/chris101b
   
Reply With Quote
Old
b00kworm
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 12-30-2008, 10:07 AM

Instead of (or in addition to) lock-on, could you add a feature where the aimer changes color when you are aimed at an enemy?

I tried it, and it worked pretty well.
Attached Files
File Type: a2w aiming.a2w (1.05 MB, 44 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 12-30-2008, 11:36 AM

Here's the error message, looks like Alice can't handle all of the imported textures you added to it. Let me see if I can fix it.

Alice version: 2.0 04/05/2005
os.name: Windows XP
os.version: 5.1
os.arch: x86
java.vm.name: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
java.vm.version: 1.3.1_10-b03
user.dir: C:\Program Files\Alice\Alice V2\Alice\Required
Exception occurred during event dispatching:
java.lang.RuntimeException: DirectDraw does not have enough display memory to perform the operation.
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.direct x7renderer.RenderTargetAdapter.render(Native Method)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.native renderer.RenderTarget.clearAndRenderOffscreen(Rend erTarget.java:108)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.native renderer.OnscreenRenderTarget.clearAndRenderOffscr een(OnscreenRenderTarget.java:58)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.native renderer.RenderCanvas.paint(RenderCanvas.java:55)
at edu.cmu.cs.stage3.alice.scenegraph.renderer.native renderer.RenderCanvas.update(RenderCanvas.java:44)
at sun.awt.RepaintArea.update(Unknown Source)
at sun.awt.windows.WComponentPeer.handleEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierar chy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarch y(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)


(')>
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.