Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Works-In-Progress

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
I need some testers
Old
rich0e0rick
Senior Member
 
rich0e0rick's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 141
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sturgeon Falls
Talking I need some testers - 07-09-2010, 09:28 PM

hey guys, its been a while since you've seen me.

I'm currently building the game I was going to submit to the forums contest, but since I was unable to finish in time, I decided to make it the best possible.

I currently have most of the engine/code done except for the enemies, hit boxes, and missions. What I need from you guys (Pretty please) is to simply run it as-is to see if its lagging too much. I noticed that after playing it couple times, the game gets VERY laggy, but the First run is pretty smooth. I was hoping others could tell me if the game is running smoothly on their PC, since my windows partition on my Macintosh must be different from your computers.

To start the game, just press the circle in the middle.
Shoot with [ Space bar ] or mouseclick, and missiles with the [M] key

Thanks a lot all you people who can do this for me. This game is going to be awesome.

Rick
Attached Images
File Type: jpg capture.jpg (14.6 KB, 240 views)
Attached Files
File Type: a2w Richerick-Dogfights.a2w (13.53 MB, 192 views)


im back!!! FINNALY!!! got windows working on my mac again!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 07-09-2010, 10:29 PM

Very good, It doesn't lag for me(I run with 4 gb of ram and a 2.2 ghz intel duo processor)
I think the plaane should be able to be controlled with the arows too. And the speed is too fast.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Thumbs up 07-10-2010, 05:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Gamer(gorit) View Post
Very good, It doesn't lag for me(I run with 4 gb of ram and a 2.2 ghz intel duo processor)
I think the plaane should be able to be controlled with the arows too. And the speed is too fast.
press s to decrease the speed, w to increase it.

it was very good, nice feel, but it needs finished, cos I lost the ships


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
rich0e0rick
Senior Member
 
rich0e0rick's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 141
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sturgeon Falls
Default 07-10-2010, 12:44 PM

k thanks guys for your help, good to know i can add lots more stuff. I know the ships are easy to lose, that square at the top is going to be a radar hopefully.

as for the missions, i think its going to be more aircraft based, since its kinda hard to attack the small pt boat ....

I was thinking maybe I should make each mission a separate world? that way it can be 10 times cooler? Or are people going to get bored of opening each world separately?

thanks alot for your help, time to get back to work!

Rick


im back!!! FINNALY!!! got windows working on my mac again!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
King Gamer(gorit)
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 07-10-2010, 01:57 PM

I would be fine switchong worlds.
I'd like a cockpit view too.

Last edited by King Gamer(gorit); 07-10-2010 at 02:00 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Error - Using Alice 2.2 with Mac OSX
Old
JAA
Member
 
JAA's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2010
Exclamation Error - Using Alice 2.2 with Mac OSX - 07-10-2010, 08:20 PM

When I click cal the screen closes and there is an error message. I'll try and see if it works on a PC when I can. From the screen shots this game looks great. Is that plane reflecting off the water?

Here's some links to my first two projects. Check them out and tell me what you think.

Prehistoric Showdown
http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4716

Basic FPS Engine
http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4724


Out of the 7 schools I applied for, Carnegie Mellon is the only one that didn't accept me. They wait listed me, but I hold no grudges. Alice is awesome and Claytronics , om*g. Some one should figure out how to put these two projects together. It would revolutionize not only the gaming industry, but the world... scratch that, the Universe... scratch that, the Multiverse!

Last edited by JAA; 07-12-2010 at 01:41 AM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
rich0e0rick
Senior Member
 
rich0e0rick's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 141
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sturgeon Falls
Default 07-10-2010, 10:53 PM

so your using a Mac I presume? The functions that figure out the mouse movements don't work on the mac version of Alice. Part of the reason I got a windows partition. I'm currently on my Mac partition, so I'm going to look at your worlds tomorrow alright?

I should have stated this is a Windows only world. I wish they would debug the Mac version of Alice, Some of the functions don't even work half the time! oh well.

Rick


im back!!! FINNALY!!! got windows working on my mac again!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
zonedabone
Senior Member
 
zonedabone's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 578
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In the interwebs
Default 07-11-2010, 07:34 AM

This may just be me, but I had trouble with the controls. usually, the vertical controls are reversed on flying games.


'Apple Macintosh' - An anagram of 'Complaints Heap'

M.A.C.I.N.T.O.S.H. - Machine Always Crashes, If Not, The Operating System Hangs.

You're *such* a mac person.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 07-11-2010, 01:35 PM

Wow, this is good. I see you used my plane controlling system. Nice use


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
rich0e0rick
Senior Member
 
rich0e0rick's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 141
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sturgeon Falls
Default 07-11-2010, 01:56 PM

what the heck are you talking about jedi? you never made anything close to this. I figured this out by myself thank you very much. I'd like to see YOU try and make something like this.

stop trying to look good. Its getting on peoples nerves.


im back!!! FINNALY!!! got windows working on my mac again!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.