Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Export as Web Page Alice 2.2
Old
razielpro
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Export as Web Page Alice 2.2 - 04-15-2012, 02:23 PM

Hello,

I've tried to load this world to my site and I receive a "Alice is unable to initialize" error. Please click link below; there is no link below that last statement.

I noticed in three that the Export as web page option is taken out of the program. I'd like to be able to have users interact with the programs I create in Alice.

I have attached the world that I'm trying to display on my site and this is the source that alice generates in the HTML file:

<applet archive="aliceapplet.jar" codebase="." code="edu/cmu/cs/stage3/alice/player/PlayerApplet.class" width="320" height="240" alt="If you could run this applet, you'd see an Alice World">
<param name="progressbar" value="true">
<param name="boxfgcolor" value="#000000">
<param name="boxbgcolor" value="#FFFFFF">
<param name="progresscolor" value="#000000">
<param name="boxmessage" value="Alice applet starting...">
<param name="world" value="amusement_park.a2w">


I'm wondering if the codebase= statement has something to do with it.

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks in advance,

Eric
Attached Files
File Type: a2w POS371.AmusementPark.Final.a2w (7.94 MB, 2 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Anyone?
Old
razielpro
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Anyone? - 04-16-2012, 11:26 AM

   
Reply With Quote
Web Alice
Old
aikmin
Senior Member
 
aikmin's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 85
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Web Alice - 04-17-2012, 09:41 AM

Try this.
Attached Files
File Type: zip My_Alice_World.zip (8.31 MB, 9 views)
   
Reply With Quote
Applet still wont load....
Old
razielpro
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default Applet still wont load.... - 04-18-2012, 01:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by aikmin View Post
Try this.
I tried loading it in Chrome, Firefox, and IE. At least IE had the decency to tell me that "Alice could not initialize...."

I enabled anything associated with Java in all three browsers and, nothing. It loads the run options; pause, resume, restart, and stop, and just sits there real wt? moment.

I looked at the a2w you posted Aikmin and didn't notice anything different. Did you change anything in the file? The HTML looks the same too.

If the message board cant help with this, who do I call? I paid a lot of money and spent a lot of time with the app and I'd like a solid answer on this. If the functionality is in 2.2 it must have worked at some point. Like I said in my previous post, the functionality isnt there in the 3. Just video only and upload to youtube. If that's the case then ok, but I just don't want to chase shiney objects with this.

Thanks for your help.
   
Reply With Quote
Export as Web Page Alice 2.2
Old
yossiy
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Modiin, Israel
Default Export as Web Page Alice 2.2 - 05-12-2012, 02:21 PM

Hi,
I'm having the exact same problem.
I'm running Windows 7 64 bit OS.
My students (7th-8th grade) have built some pretty neat games, which they would like to show around and they can't, and I have no clue as to what is going wrong.
I'd appreciate your help and advice.
Yossi Yaron
   
Reply With Quote
Found the solution, but the animation doesn't quite look the same
Old
yossiy
Junior Member
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Modiin, Israel
Exclamation Found the solution, but the animation doesn't quite look the same - 05-13-2012, 11:34 PM

Hi,
A colleague teacher who is a Java expert looked into it, and pointed out that I should have downloaded and installed the Java components from:
http://www.alice.org/index.php?page=...t_instructions

Now it does work , but the world looks and behaves differently in the browser than in the Alice environment :
1. It does not respond to events.
2. Invisible objects appear visible all the time.
3. The sounds (or "say" bubbles) do not appear.
I was using both Internet Explorer and Chrome.

Is this normal? Does anyone know a way around this issue?
Yossi
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 05-14-2012, 12:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by yossiy View Post
Is this normal? Does anyone know a way around this issue?
Yossi
The browser version doesn't, and has never, worked properly and probably never will, sorry.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.