Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Motion constraints
Old
Korla Plankton

Default Motion constraints - 01-02-2008, 10:05 AM

Hi forum! I'm a total newb to Alice and OOP. I'm using Alice to get my head around OOP concepts (always been a procedural guy) and I've recommend it to the school's CS teacher to check out.

Anyway, sorry if my question has been asked and answered.... I did a search (using Mr. Baldwin's tips) but didn't find anything. Maybe I'm not using the right keywords.

Anyway, I have a car that I can drive around using arrow key events and I have "Coach" running away from the car, like so.

While true
coach move amount = 2 meters away from target = car

The problem is that Coach gradually sinks under the ground. I may be able to fix this by using one of the collision hacks described in the forum, but it would be much better for this purpose to simply constrain coach's movement so he can't move in the Z (depth) axis. Is there a way to do this?

Thanks for humoring the newb!

Old
DickBaldwin

Default 01-02-2008, 02:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korla Plankton View Post
Hi forum! I'm a total newb to Alice and OOP. I'm using Alice to get my head around OOP concepts (always been a procedural guy) and I've recommend it to the school's CS teacher to check out.

Anyway, sorry if my question has been asked and answered.... I did a search (using Mr. Baldwin's tips) but didn't find anything. Maybe I'm not using the right keywords.

Anyway, I have a car that I can drive around using arrow key events and I have "Coach" running away from the car, like so.

While true
coach move amount = 2 meters away from target = car

The problem is that Coach gradually sinks under the ground. I may be able to fix this by using one of the collision hacks described in the forum, but it would be much better for this purpose to simply constrain coach's movement so he can't move in the Z (depth) axis. Is there a way to do this?