Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > How do I...?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 01-10-2010, 04:47 PM

Hey i worked on your game, i did not do much, i just made a counter so you can win now, you can edit your own version, i just thought this would be a helpful example
Attached Files
File Type: a2w turtle game1.5.a2w (1.47 MB, 14 views)


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames

Last edited by jediaction; 01-10-2010 at 04:52 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 01-10-2010, 04:59 PM

Nice, but why are the knives not showing? I thought they were supposed to be showing. And also you only used the first 15 you didn't use all 44, which makes the possibility of the same number being picked twice happen more often.

If you want you can make it so that there are more levels, like I proposed. Or if you don't want to I can do it, or thearun if he knows how.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
thearun
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 01-10-2010, 05:00 PM

i guess my explanation fails then. i added a scoreboard by adding:
3d text3 set to world.turtlecounter as a string duration 0 seconds

This seems to work ok, and im sure my teacher would accept it, but it seems very glitched, as you can't really click on the turtle while its moving. Maybe due to lag? or maybe Alice is just like that because i've played some other games on the forums and they all seem sorta, slow. If you click on the turtle while its moving and it seems as though you have clicked on it, the score doesn't go up. Is there anyway to fix this? how about, if i made it so a square or something was vehicled to the turtle and instead of clicked on turtle in the events, clicked on the square. That would make the clicking surface bigger, thus making it more likely that the lag or w/e wrong with it wouldn't show?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
thearun
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 01-10-2010, 05:05 PM

I appreciate you guys trying to help, but i don't want to take credit for some other people's work, so i'd like to work on this myself.

The knives aren't supposed to be showing. I just used them as an innovative way to move the turtle around the screen without going off. [probably the hard way to do it:P]

I'll keep working on this myself, and if i run into trouble ill post here. I'll also post the final version to see if you guys have any ideas to make it better. Thanks for all your time. I really do appreciate it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 01-10-2010, 05:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by thearun View Post
it seems very glitched, as you can't really click on the turtle while its moving.
It is because you are probably dragging as you click. When you click and drag, and then let go, Alice does not register that as a click. If you keep the mouse still while you click on the moving turtle, it will register.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thearun View Post
The knives aren't supposed to be showing. I just used them as an innovative way to move the turtle around the screen without going off. [probably the hard way to do it:P]
Oh if that is the case then you shouldn't be using knives, it takes up a lot of space. I would use something very simple like the 2D square in the objects folder if you want to make it like that. You can reduce the file size a lot by using objects that are simpler like the square.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by Dameria; 01-10-2010 at 05:08 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
thearun
Guest
 
Status:
Posts: n/a
Default 01-10-2010, 05:12 PM

i used knives because they are a small object, and simple...? Was i wrong? I'm not too worried about file size. it's only 1mb as of now, and it probably won't grow too much as methods shouldn't take too much. and interesting about the clicks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 01-10-2010, 05:25 PM

You can always use a large object like a square, and then just click the resize option and drag the square so that is becomes smaller, and then just click the copy option to make more squares. For this one I guess it doesn't matter, but later on you should use smaller file size objects just in case you make a larger game.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 01-10-2010, 06:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by thearun View Post
i guess my explanation fails then. i added a scoreboard by adding:
3d text3 set to world.turtlecounter as a string duration 0 seconds

This seems to work ok, and im sure my teacher would accept it, but it seems very glitched, as you can't really click on the turtle while its moving. Maybe due to lag? or maybe Alice is just like that because i've played some other games on the forums and they all seem sorta, slow. If you click on the turtle while its moving and it seems as though you have clicked on it, the score doesn't go up. Is there anyway to fix this? how about, if i made it so a square or something was vehicled to the turtle and instead of clicked on turtle in the events, clicked on the square. That would make the clicking surface bigger, thus making it more likely that the lag or w/e wrong with it wouldn't show?
To fix the problem of the glitching and pressing, jsut make it so when object is "pressed" do the number count. Just change it to when turtle is pressed on


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 01-10-2010, 06:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by thearun View Post
It works great. Thanks so much. But how'd you figure this out? Seems so complicated? I'm sorry if it took a lot of time.

Now i have to figure out how to make the scoreboard and more importantly the scoring system. Wish me luck. Thanks.
I did add a scoring board


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Dameria
Senior Member
 
Dameria's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 978
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Default 01-10-2010, 07:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
I did add a scoring board
He wrote that about my post, when I did not have a scoring board. After he wrote that you added a scoring board to it, so it does not matter now, there is a scoring board. And I already told him that the glitch is because it does not register when you drag as you click, and do NOT do the while turtle is being pressed, because that will make it so that if you click the turtle and hold down for a split second, you will win the game. Keep it the way it is, the glitch will just have to stay there.


Check out my best projects so far and please comment:

Tic-Tac-Toe 2.0 ................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=3548
Alice Paint ........................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=23408
Real-Time Clock .................. http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=12725
Maze Game ......................... http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=4301

Last edited by Dameria; 01-10-2010 at 07:41 PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.