Alice Community  

Go Back   Alice Community > Alice 2 > Share Worlds

View Poll Results: What do you think of Halo 2?
Way better than the the first game! Excellent! 15 39.47%
Highly recommended! Great game! 7 18.42%
Great game overall 6 15.79%
Well done, but some things could be improved 5 13.16%
It had its moments, but nothing jaw dropping 5 13.16%
Voters: 38. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
debussybunny563
Senior Member
 
debussybunny563's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Join Date: May 2010
Default 11-12-2011, 08:27 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kidnapper View Post
What? Do you even?
Simple trick to First Person: Don't move your camera around the world. Move the world around your camera. Think Albert Einstein's theory of relativity, or just plain solipsism. Things make much smoother turns this way.
Move the world around the camera? Not sure if that's a good idea...

Actually, it would work in theory, but programming it would be very different and possibly more complicated, especially since you'll have to move the ground relative to the camera. Having the camera move around is a lot easier and it's worked well so far.

I doubt the program would run much smoother; for the most part the lag is just the insane amount of content in the world, which wouldn't decrease with the world moving around the camera.
Why would moving the world around the camera make smoother turns?


Last edited by debussybunny563; 12-21-2012 at 12:00 AM.

|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|Link to weapons collection: http://www.alice.org/community/showthread.php?t=7368 |
|--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

I have been dead for quite some time now; not much hope for resurrection.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Nighthawk0973
Senior Member
 
Nighthawk0973's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 240
Join Date: May 2011
Location: In front of my computer.
Default 11-12-2011, 02:56 PM

lol that's exactly what I was thinking.

I'm personally getting a bit over exited to see what artys doing with the Halo 2 game actually. I've always wanted to create a FPS with Alice but can never get the mouse aiming to work!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 11-12-2011, 08:34 PM

Yah, well.....join the club....

Anyway....I was dissapointed while making this game. I never thought it was good...from the start. Looks like I was right.


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Arrow 11-13-2011, 12:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nighthawk0973 View Post
I'm personally getting a bit over exited to see what artys doing with the Halo 2 game actually.
Please don't, I am frantically trying to reduce lag, but I can't promise good results - there is a lot of stuff in this world and it is hard to work with it all.

What I have done so far:
- Fixed the menu (as I said in posts above).
- Renamed a lot of objects as they had stupid names that didn't reference what they actually are.
- Made many groups and grouped a lot of objects so they are easier to work with.
- Extracted loads of textures and created min, low, mid and high res versions of them.
- Imported all these textures, applied the min res textures to everything and deleted the old textures.
- Created a Performance/Quality Settings screen.
- Implemented applying quality settings.

I'm not trying to brag when I say this, but my Addons have come in very handy. I used Texture Tools to save all the textures to file and I used Gloo to stick together loads of stuff. Gloo is also very handy for making groups (it works with that too), because when there are loads of objects the object tree is impractical, Gloo also alphabetically orders the objects, so that was easier.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
x2495iiii
Super Moderator
 
x2495iiii's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,508
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere in the Continental U.S.
Default 11-13-2011, 02:22 PM

Sounds good so far.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
Nighthawk0973
Senior Member
 
Nighthawk0973's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 240
Join Date: May 2011
Location: In front of my computer.
Default 11-14-2011, 12:29 AM

Well I'm not personally exited about the game, I'm just exited about the concept and seeing the FPS come to life. Don't worry I'm not THAT exited about it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 11-14-2011, 08:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by arty-fishL View Post
Please don't, I am frantically trying to reduce lag, but I can't promise good results - there is a lot of stuff in this world and it is hard to work with it all.

What I have done so far:
- Fixed the menu (as I said in posts above).
- Renamed a lot of objects as they had stupid names that didn't reference what they actually are.
- Made many groups and grouped a lot of objects so they are easier to work with.
- Extracted loads of textures and created min, low, mid and high res versions of them.
- Imported all these textures, applied the min res textures to everything and deleted the old textures.
- Created a Performance/Quality Settings screen.
- Implemented applying quality settings.

I'm not trying to brag when I say this, but my Addons have come in very handy. I used Texture Tools to save all the textures to file and I used Gloo to stick together loads of stuff. Gloo is also very handy for making groups (it works with that too), because when there are loads of objects the object tree is impractical, Gloo also alphabetically orders the objects, so that was easier.
The reason the objects can't be renamed is after a certain size, my Alice always crashes if I rename. Thats odd but good. Thanks


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Old
sfunk
Senior Member
 
sfunk's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: I don't know
Default 11-14-2011, 09:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nighthawk0973 View Post
Well I'm not personally exited about the game, I'm just exited about the concept and seeing the FPS come to life. Don't worry I'm not THAT exited about it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nighthawk0973 View Post
lol that's exactly what I was thinking.

I'm personally getting a bit over exited to see what artys doing with the Halo 2 game actually. I've always wanted to create a FPS with Alice but can never get the mouse aiming to work!
Excited, sorry, that was bothering me haha


If you are stuck on a project, check out the tutorials I made here at this link:

http://alice.org/community/showthread.php?p=36778#post36778

There are lots of tutorials on it so far, including some youtube videos, check it out

Or..

Go to my youtube channel to check out my alice 2.2 tutorials I have there..

http://www.youtube.com/user/sfunk1992?feature=mhsn
   
Reply With Quote
Old
arty-fishL
Senior Member
 
arty-fishL's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,878
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the corner of your eye
Default 11-14-2011, 12:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jediaction View Post
The reason the objects can't be renamed is after a certain size, my Alice always crashes if I rename. Thats odd but good. Thanks
It doesn't crash for me, as long as I don't play the world. I need to make lots of changes, save it and then check if its worked. Then I need to restart Alice.


█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░▓░░░░░░░▓░░░░░░░░░░░▓▓░░▓░░░░░░▓░░░▓░░░░█
█░▓░▓░▓▓▓░▓▓▓░▓░▓░░░░░░▓▒▒░░▒░░▓▓░▓▓▓░▓▒░░░█
█░▓▓▓▒▓▒▒▒░▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▓▓▓░▓▓▓░░▓░░░▓▒▒▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░▓▓░░▒▓▒░▒▒▒░▓▒▒░▓▓░▓▓▒░▓▒▓▒▓▒░░░█
█░▓▒▓▒░▒░░░░▒▒▓▓▓▒░░░░▓▓▒░░░▒▒░▒▒░░▒░▒▓▓▓░░█
█░░▒░▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█

I have mostly moved on from Alice, but may still respond to messages if important [-]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
jediaction
Senior Member
 
jediaction's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,064
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bel Air, Maryland
Default 11-14-2011, 12:32 PM

Well thats good then.


Website: www.salokingames.com
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/SalokinGames
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Copyright ©2019, Carnegie Mellon University
Alice 2.x 1999-2012, Alice 3.x 2008-2012, Carnegie Mellon University. All rights reserved.